Currently Watching: Ruby Ring

Rubys-Ring-Poster2

Throw me a sh*t and I’ll magically turn it to fun! Ohhh yeah, I’m gifted that way! LOL. What? You think I’m incapable of doing that? Well…let see, when everybody was busy hating Kim Ji Won’s Yoo Rachael character in The Heirs, I was actually rooting for her. The drama was made to hate her but never told the story from her perspective. She’s a victim too, ya know? *breathes hard* And then we have Ji Chang Wook’s character as Yoo In Ha in Five Fingers. No one ever considered that he was bamboozled by his dad too… He deserves to be angry, don’t you think? So you see, sometimes I cheer for the unthinkable character(s) but don’t we all with our second lead syndrome? My feeling for second lead syndrome applies similarly except in Ruby Ring, instead of love though I wish all the worse of the worse toward both the female leads. Yeap, you heard me… I wish them dead! *evil laugh*

collage

Ruby Ring is my second daily drama I decided to watch this year after Angel’s Revenge (review will be up soon). This 93-episode drama began airing late last year and completed the series on January 3rd, 2014. However, it was not available for viewing with complete subbed until April this year. Thanks to KBSWorld YouTube, I now can enjoy (or rather cuss) this show with ease. I’m currently current with all the episodes. So far, there are 65 episodes out and I’m looking forward for more subbed episodes to come. This show is pretty addictive. How addictive? Do you remember John Travolta and Nicholas Cage’s Face/Off movie? Ruby Ring is the exact remake of Face/Off, ahjumma style *laughs*. Wae? The plots. What else could it be? The plots not only will make you clenching your teeth and throwing toys (cats or kids) to the tv, it will also turn you into a different person during this 30 minutes of airing. *nods* You do not want to see me after watching this show.

rr

Ruby Ring is a revenge story of two sisters, Ruby and Runa. They are both of the same age but aren’t twin even though the synopsis says they are twin. The story laid out that one of them is adopted and another the real daughter. Their mom never really disclosed which is hers but I’m sure eventually the word will be out and it will be a jaw dropping scene! Anyway, Ruby is one angel-like daughter. She’s very responsible, obedient and a model daughter for the family. Runa is everything Ruby isn’t. She’s a drinker, a manipulative child who cares no one but herself. She craves money, branded clothes, popular status and men. Angel and devil in a form of human. The devil constantly jealous of the angel. One day, when Ruby announced her engagement with Gyeongmin, her longtime boyfriend and a chaebol son, Runa went berserk and mad. It is her ambition to marry a chaebol but instead her life is ruined with an unexpected pregnancy with her Producer Director boyfriend, In So. As much as In So was willing to take care of her, she insisted that the pregnancy is a burden to her. Runa’s jealousy went up to the roof when Ruby drove home a luxury car, a gift by her in-law. Her jealousy was so deep she forced Ruby to exchange her clothes with her. And to make it worse, she insisted of using Ruby’s engagement ring to match the outfit.

rr

Ruby is too obedient sadly and let her sister do whatever she wants including letting Runa drove the car while she sits on the passenger side. Their conversation turned to south and Runa started to speed. Of course, the came into an accident and both their faces were ruined by the shattered windshield. Because Runa was found with Ruby’s possession and behind the wheels, her face was constructed as Ruby and Ruby’s as Runa’s. Runa took this chance to live off of Ruby’s life while the real Ruby was left in coma. When the real Ruby woke up, it took her months to recover her memory back. When she realized her life is taken away by her sister and the fact that In So is also aware yet did nothing to expose Runa, Ruby started to plot her own revenge towards Runa.

rr

Despite Runa’s clever plan, she constantly faces troubles due to her own evil scheme. And now that Ruby knows it too, she has now turned herself into what I think another Runa. *facepalm* Either way, Ruby Ring will not have a happy ending based on my hunch. But I will continue to watch because I really want to know how the stories unfold. The questions are who will unveil the truth of the Runa’s face? Will Gyeongmin continues to love her after knowing the truth? How about In So? Will Ruby understand that his love is real and not just because of the face? Yes chingu, Ruby Ring is very entertaining! Please watch… It is only 30 minutes long! C’mon, trust me… You wanna watch this face/off drama!

rr

pic credit: Soompi

9 thoughts on “Currently Watching: Ruby Ring

  1. Pingback: Currently Watching: Two Mothers |

    • I’m sorry, I tried asking around and no one seems to recap it. I tweeted my good blogger friend, NeeNee, since she was recapping it at the beginning. She said she might pick up again so perhaps you can keep an eye on her blog. Again, I’m sorry I’m not as helpful as I had hope for. Did you try Soompi?

      Like

  2. Yes soompi has all d recaps, i am through with d recap and am now watching d drama. Can tell pls tell me who did d recaps of these wonderful dramas CAN WE GET MARRIED, DON’T ASK ABOUT THE PAST

    Like

  3. Pingback: Currently Watching: Revive |

What do you think?

