Currently Watching: Hana Yori Dango

 

hana

When was the last time you saw high school dramas? I believe mine was Ma Boy, which was back in mid 2013. *facepalm* Now, I cannot believe I’m watching another high school drama. I’m at this age where high school drama theme should not  be in my watch anymore. Amuden, I got sucked in by my Kakao girls into watching Hana Yori Dango. Peer pressure is surprisingly work for some of us *points finger at myself*. But you know, I realize I must complete the the three country series anyway. I saw Meteor Garden years and years back. I loved the show and I don’t remember back then if the show was draggy or not, but the time flew by so fast I had a major withdrawal then. And then there’s Boys Over Flowers, the over-the-top, super dramatic I-Can’t-Believe-I-Saw-It twice! Don’t get shocked… I may have underestimate it… more than twice *sticks her tongue out*. Yes, yes… throw me into the shame room, please. *shrugs* I had to watch it for…. research, ya know *laughs*.

large

And  back to Hana Yori Dango, besides the peer pressure I went through, I realized I must watch it anyway. So far, it’s a lukewarm and I’m not as thrilled as I thought I would. I already know the story line so I don’t feel moved or touched. The boys are cute however. I recognized them all. So is the girl. Other than that, I have no feeling for this drama. Yeap, it is time for me to move on and steer away from high school theme unless if it were made recently.

f4mx1hr0

This is a 9-episode series drama and I have seen 5 episodes so far. When compared to Meteor Garden and Boys Over Flower, Hana Yori is the second best of all three. I still prefer Meteor Garden. Boys Over Flowers though… *ducks from BoF fans* I shall zip my mouth *laughs*. Hmmmm do I need to get into the details? A little bit? Well, here it goes. Hana Yori Dango told a story of Tsukushi, a poor student in an elite school that is ruled by the gangsta yet handsome 4 boys they called themselves F4. Tsukushi fell in love with Rui, one of the sweetest and reserved F4 boy but the arrogant leader, Tsukasa started to develop a feeling for her. Tsukushi couldn’t believe Tsukasa would have this love feeling towards her after what he had done to her in school. Must I go on? This is painful…

9153dbf5b3a830_full

Would I recommend it? Unless if they decide to remake this show again and giving a new life and air, I don’t think so. At least it is not for my taste… It’s cute and corny but just not my cup of tea. Sorry. Next drama please… *shrugs*

tumblr_mwl2ubu4QI1sqplauo1_500

8 thoughts on “Currently Watching: Hana Yori Dango

  1. Aw, I remember really liking Hana Yori Dango!! But then again, I watched that years ago, and if I went back to it now, I can’t say whether I’d still like it as much. STILL. You watched the awful, awful BOF TWICE? So you – GASP! – actually PREFER BOF to HYD?? Oh my! 😄

    Like

    • Stop! Quit judging me! 😄 Of all three, HYD is the second best. BOF of course is the most awful one… It’s almost paradise in a bad way that sucked me in twice (or more)! Lol

      Like

      • You know how much this drama annoys me, lol. But I swear I am going to struggle through the last episodes so I can do the blog on all 3 of them. And I’ll try to find something nice to say. I’ve watched BOF 3 times and some episodes over in addition. It is my favorite in many ways but I enjoy MG too just as much in a different way. I’ve watched it twice, and I watched the 2nd season also.

        Like

          • I think you should probably finish this one, watch something else, and then if you feel the need to watch S2, go for it. Isn’t there a movie too? I’m not going to be able to watch the S2 even though I’d like to for blogging purposes.

            Like

  2. Pingback: Currently Watching: Rich Man, Poor Woman |

What do you think?

