Currently Watching: Alice no Toge

alice1

Yeap, I’m watching Japanese dramas chingus. For some odd reason, nothing in kdrama land really grab my attention. My Secret Hotel is a flop but I’m still watching it even after advising you all to drop it. Yes, I have a terminal drama sickness. I have a problem with dropping drama… *hang head low*. It is just hard to drop as you know I want to give these writers and directors chance to prove to me. But you know what; I never made decision based on writers and directors. My decision to watch a particular drama is mainly influenced by my twitter chingus and bloggers. So there you have it… And hence, I decided to watch Alice No Toge.

alice2

I heard Alice was a hit among watchers. Bel raved about how it was so good that I must watch it. Knowing her classy taste in dramas, I agreed to watch. This 10 episode, hourly drama is quite dark to be honest. I did not expect it to be dark, mysterious and in maze. The actress is very familiar. She was Nodame in the Nodame’s Cantabille. But *shaking head*, I could hardly recognize her. I mean I do but she looks older than she was in Nodame. Well, Nodame was an old drama anyway *shrugs*

alice3

Anyway, this mysterious drama is like a maze. By the time I finished episode 7, my jaw was on the floor. I did not see it coming! The mood was dark, not once I remember laughing at any of the episode. And this drama requires your full attention, which I’m not used to. It started with Asumi, a resident doctor in a university hospital. She decided to pursue just this particular hospital to take revenge on her father’s death. The rumor has it that her father died of complication at the surgery table but no one honored his death after that as Asumi was told that her dad scammed the hospital. So her mission since then is to take out one by one anyone that contributed to the death of her father. Her plan was sniffed by Yusuke, a reported who is coincidentally also reporting any medical news just from this hospital. Yusuke found out that Asumi changed her last name so that no one could relate her to her father. Yusuke offered his help. Asumi hesitatingly accepted his offer. Together, they slowly reveal the dirty secret the hospital has been hiding for years. But… A twist of event took place. Tsuyoshi, one of the head hospital is skeptical with Asumi and was able to connect the dots. He started to mess with her by giving her assignments that eventually led her to believe that he too wants to reveal the truth. She accepted the assignment which later on revealed that she was fooled by Tsuyoshi and Shuichi. So now what? 

alice4

I don’t know what the next three episodes will bring in to the table. The intensity is completely insane! It gets complicated from now on. One of the nurse discovered Asumi’s identity. *facepalm* I feel like I’m panicking as I’m writing this. To be honest, I am definitely clueless. Looks like I have no choice but to watch it to find out whether Asumi is succeed with her plan. One thing for sure, I don’t trust Yusuke. He has his own agenda as well. Oh wow, how can the director pack this maze of messiness into 10 episode drama? JDramas are famous for that, you gotta give a salute to them. Would I recommend it? If you like a puzzle drama, this is the one for you. This drama is very puzzling. When you think you almost found out the truth, the story start to make a full swing and twist. Aiiii… Just watch it if you’re interested! And what’s more interesting is that she relate each perpetrator to one of the Alice in the Wonderland character! Yeap,…. you have got to watch it, my friends!

One thought on “Currently Watching: Alice no Toge

What do you think?

