Currently Watching: Reset

Reset_(Korean_Drama)-p1

I was not sure what to anticipate when I started Reset. I saw the trailers several times. I knew it has something to do with crime. I knew the drama would be very thrilling. I was hungry for drama that could and would knock me off the chair. I am not easily impressed, lately. Korean dramas have been really lacking whachamacallit… the oooomph. Yes, lacking the oooomph. I was frustrated with the My Secret Hotel. As much as I hesitated to start with another drama that could possibly lead to nowhere, I went in anyway. Mind you that I dislike reading synopsis (yeah, another bad trait of mine) so watching trailers can either help me understand the drama somewhat or not. In Reset case, I don’t get it. But what makes me wanna watch it anyway? Because of Chun Jung Myung.

photo463951

Chun Jung-Myung, once known as baby-faced actor, is no longer a baby. The man has grown handsomely. I’ve only seen him in What’s Up, Fox? as an immature world traveler who fell in love with his elder sister’s BFF. Yeah, he looked pretty young then since it was a 2006 drama. Fast forward 8 years later, the main grow up pretty well. His coldness and boldness as prosecutor Cha Woo Jin is quite impressive. I should say he’s pretty darn good actor for able to make me believe he’s a new person in Reset. And I like that he wears a tiny smirk on his face! I find it cute! Back to Reset, this OCN production drama is only 10 episodes long. Well, we all know OCN dramas are quite short but the quality of each drama is pretty splendid. Reset is spectacular and the first episode was aaaaaahmazing! So far, 8 episodes have aired and we are 2 episodes to go. After episode 7 though, I was a little confused and so is Bel, my drama sidekick. This drama is quite tricky to begin with. You really have to pay a lot of attention.

fullsizephoto464965

The story started with Cha Woo Jin himself. He’s an impressive prosecutor and is able to get victim’s confessions, and perhaps to hear the truth, just like that! His secret to success? His ability to hypnotize at a clicking of his pen! Yeap, he love to click his pen. Normally, it would drive me crazy but it works in his line of work. One night, as he accompanied his drunken colleague for a fresh air, they stumbled on a group of troubled teens in the dark walkway. One of the girl ninja attacked them. She is Eun Bi. Woo Jin was stunned as she resembled his dead girlfriend. And somewhat, his twisted fate with Eun Bi didn’t stop there. The next day, she was caught for a murder she claimed she knew nothing of. Yes, this high school kid was found guilty and did not has an alibi to prove it. Her case was taken by his crook colleague. Eun Bi begged for help and to make sure she truly is innocent, he hypnotized her. Sure enough, she was blamed for the whole shebang. He took her case and was able to clear her name out. But since she’s a minor and may possibly targeted, he sent her back to her home but only to realize she’s unwanted by her family. His assistant, who happened to live next door to his apartment, took Eun Bi in. While protecting her, Woo Jin is tested by a case that could answer the reason his dead girlfriend was abused (possibly raped) and suicide. But he is facing many road blocks at the moment… It’s quite scary to be honest.

photo477675

I’m in the middle of watching episode 8 and I’m thinking out loud *rubbing chin* will the murder case get solved in the next two episodes? Will there be a sequel? Truthfully, I do not see how this show can be wrapped up in the next two episodes. I am skeptical but then again, OCN is known for short dramas. I just don’t want to hear a sequel and ends Reset with a major cliffhanger. So far, I don’t hear any rumor so I think we are good. I’m still skeptical and curious, and I really want to know the ending. The dark mood is really awesome and it set a thrilling yet chilly tone, kinda reminded me of Vampire Prosecutor, TEN and God’s QuizReset is awesome like that too. You should watch.

 

7 thoughts on “Currently Watching: Reset

  1. Because of Chun Jung Myung is the main reason I watched too! But can I say, the total change of Eun Bi’s character to what she is now is the biggest disappointment! From tough hoodlum girl to shrinking violet. What’s up with that? And don’t get me started on the story of late…..

    Like

  2. Pingback: Currently Watching: Bad Guys |

  3. Pingback: Currently Watching: Heart To Heart |

  4. Pingback: Currently Watching: Sweden Laundry |

  5. Pingback: Currently Watching: Who Are You: School 2015 |

What do you think?

