Currently Watching: The Three Musketeers

The-Three-Musketeers-03

Oh my god, I’m so very nervous now. The year is almost ending and I am only on my fourth sageuk! Would I be able to complete my kdrama mission? *wipes sweat* The chosen one for my fourth sageuk is The Three Musketeers. I actually hesitated to start it. It’s a saga drama and this is the first part of three. I thought if I wanna watch it, I might as well starts it when all three parts have been aired. But hell, I got influenced by Mawie. Her chat with Jules  got me real good so I decided to screw the saga part and watch it. Whatever… I need to keep up with my kdrama resolution anyway and I’m behind.

caption

But okay, to be really honest, I’m so glad I am watching The Three Musketeers. It’s so funny and witty, yet it’s rich in story. Well, my kinda rich may be a meh to you but I do like it. Since I started the first episode, I was extremely happy and the story intrigued me so much I keep wanting for more and more. I have completed 9 episodes thus far and I have three episodes to go to finish the first saga. Yes, I’m glad I have this much patient to write my review. Really, it kills me to write this review right now coz I really , really dying to know and finish it. Well, before I do that, let me give ya a snippet, my own version of course, of The Three Musketeers.

caption

The story of The Three Musketeers, as you would have thought as well, is a story of spies. But in this case, the spies came from inside the palace! Hah! Okay, okay… Let’s start. The story began with Park Dal Hyang, played by the famous CNBlue singer, Jung Yong Hwa. Ever since his girlfriend and her family left for the city, he vowed to get back to her when he is older. While waiting, he’s been studying very hard to be a government officer. He has the looks, he is smart, polite and caring. He is the yangban of the day, the only downside is he came from a poor family. But that did not stop his ambition and his parents are extremely grateful and proud of their one and only child. When the time came, Dal Hyang rode on his horse and they both galloped to the city, a 2 months ride, to take the exam. So many obstacles he had to face on his way, he nearly missed the exam by few hours! Thank God he made it but he barely passed (even though he aced in all the exams prior but) his final exam! Wae? The Crown Prince incident the night before his final exam day. Bloooooody hell!

caption

Now back to the Crown Prince. He and two bodyguards, one is his childhood friend and another one was a recruited monk, are the unofficial Joseon spies, protecting the country from borders. Dal Hyang met the Three Musketeers on the last night before his final exam. He made them spies chased after the thugs who slayed his roommate (the roomie was rumored to be the smartest candidate and the thugs were hired by a higher minister as his son is also taking the exam and does not want to be humiliated) and they were caught. Dal Hyang was shocked to find that these men took care of things quite fast and wondered who they are. Upon leaving, his letter, given by his dad so that he can use it to receive help, accidentally were left tucked in on the monk’s horse seat. The bodyguards read them and were shocked. They handed it over to the Crown Prince and he, too, was shocked. Ooooh, what was written in that letter that made all of them this way? *rubbing chin* From then on, the Crown Prince decided to make Dal Hyang his man but him showing up on the final day of the exam shocked Dal Hyang so much he missed the shot and created a chaos scene. Crown Prince felt bad, without showing emotionally though, and begged them to award Dal Hyang the last spot.

caption

What connected Dal Hyang and Crown Prince? The Princess. It turns out the Princess is Dal Hyang’s girlfriend. Sadly, the Prince is playing hard to get with her, even after years of marriage. His reason being? He is still in love with the first wife candidate, Mi Ryeong. Mi Ryeong died and the Prince was devastated. Now, I’m not going into the detail with her death coz as you progress, you will know why. But right now, let’s focus on the Princess. She replaced Mi Ryeong and now stuck in a love triangle between Dal Hyang and Crown Prince. But after watching the first four episodes, I realized the so-called love triangle are pretty much non-existence. Dal Hyang accepted the fact and moved on. And we all know she moved on the minute she married Crown Prince, even though we know the marriage was arranged. But at this point, she has moved on and love the Crown Prince. But the Crown Prince is wishy washy about the relationship between her and Dal Hyang. So we can pretty much guess he’s jelly. His jealousy though is so cute. He is playing hard to get with her and try not to show so much that he is slowly falling for her. This can annoyed and frustrated you a bit…

caption

The first saga has its own cliffhanger. Mi Ryeong, which we thought she’s dead, came back to take a revenge on the Crown Prince. She is his enemy as well. How? You gotta watch it to know the details *wiggles brows* I don’t want to waste anytime now. I need to see the cliffhanger ending that got everybody talking about… So you can tell I like it very, very much, right? *nods* Neh, maja… And you should watch it too!

caption

3 thoughts on “Currently Watching: The Three Musketeers

  1. Pingback: Currently Watching: Oh Hae Young Again |

What do you think?

