Currently Watching: The Girl Who Sees Scents

Yoochun_1428011146_af_org

Clearly, the title does not make any sense, right? Is this true? I mean is this syndrome exist? Trust me, I’d like to believe it is but deep down, I think it’s yet another kdrama creation of a new sickness. *shaking my head* I feel like I’m living in a bubble sometimes since I fall for it so easily. But nevertheless, I did fell for it and sort of deep in love with the show. However, there is one thing I’d like to point out… This is my second drama this year that has death in it! *gasp* I really did not expect it! Not at all… And the worse part was that the writers led us to believe that the person is the suspect of interest! *dun dun dun*. Heh, I didn’t buy it but all the watchers that commented on Viki did!

fullsizephoto577542

Originally, I wasn’t planning on watching this drama. I thought I should devote more of my watch towards non-popular dramas such as daily dramas, Chinese dramas and oldies. But somehow the gravity from newer dramas is pretty strong!!! Like a bee drawn to flowers, I surrendered myself to The Girl Who Sees Scents. *giggles*. Did you like my mediocre implication of life? Oh yeah, I’m feeling a little philosophical… don’t mind me! Back to the drama, it is scheduled to end next week and I’m excited for it to end and move on to a new watch.

fullsizephoto575625

The Girl Who Sees Scents has actually a deeper meaning than its title. It’s not only comedic, it also has the elements of thriller and supernatural. I wouldn’t say it is heavily romantic, but it has some cutesy moments that I think they are cho, cho cute! As the matter of fact, I adore the OTP. Shin Se Kyung has once again step up her acting game! After Blade Man, she definitely improves her gig really fast. I’m fast becoming her fan! *smiles* I’m glad it is her and not Suzy. Heh *shrugs* just saying *ducks from Suzy’s fans* As for Micky, the only drama of his I have yet to watch is 3 Days. I’m quite a fan of his acting even though I still think it can be improved a lot more. But at least, he is more agile in here. Good job, Micky!

photo584796

So what the show is all about? Oh Cho Rim woke up from her accident able to see scents! Yeah, that’s it! *giggles* *laughs hysterically*. Okay, okay… Let me add more to this to make it interesting. So it started with Detective Choi Moo Gak who lost his sister to bar code serial killer. Yeap, the killer put a bar code on his victims (he slit the victim’s wrist with a bar code using knife) *shudders*. Anyway, the killer mistakenly took Moo Gak’s sister, Choi Eun Seul, as the person of his interest. But in reality, the real Choi Eun Seul is Oh Cho Rim. Wae different name? Her parents were murdered by the bar code killer as well. In order to protect her, she was taken in by a retired police officer as his daughter and changed her identity to avoid the killer. But why did the killer wants to kill Oh Cho Rim? Hmmmm, let’s go back to Moo Gak. While Cho Rim could see scents, Moo Gak lost his ability to taste and feel after the death of his deongsaeng. If you give him a 150 Fahrenheit, super spicy food to him, he will gauge it in under 2 seconds! Moo Gak met Cho Rim unexpectedly when Cho Rim helped him to catch a robber. But this unexpected partnership made them grew fond of each other and eventually work together to sniff the bar code killer.

photo585340

At the end of episode 14, the killer has been exposed and found so I’m not sure how they are going to play around for the next two final episodes. What I love about the serial killer is that he is nothing what we would imagine a killer would be. But I wonder why he kills and why bar code? Pretty interesting style! And also, his method of keeping his victims for days before he kill them is pretty intriguing. He is a genius and using his victims death letter as his way of inspiration to move forward to kill more. He’s like breathing in into the life of his victims per se. Most viewers are drooling by the killer’s good looking and abs… Well, *scratches head shyly* me included! I hope the next two episodes will reveal who Oh Cho Rim is and why she is wanted by the serial killer. This drama is not too bad, although sometimes you will find yourself wondering what the hell are the writers thinking! Regardless though, The Girl Who Sees Scents is pretty entertaining and time flies when you’re watching entertaining drama! Thumbs up from me! Now shoo… go watch it!

1429670300-A_Girl_Who_Sees_Smells_06.mpg_000143.443

5 thoughts on “Currently Watching: The Girl Who Sees Scents

  1. The syndrome DOES exist, and it is NOT a Kdrama invention. It is called synesthesia. I am surprised that so many people don’t know what it is. There are many types of synesthesia, and Cho Rim’s ability is just one of them. There are people who can taste words, hear colors, see letters and numbers in colors, perceive days, weeks, and months as personalities, etc. Synesthesia is a neurological condition in which the senses are cross-wired. However, in real life, synesthesia is something that you’re born with–either you have it, or you don’t. It is very, very rare to acquire synesthesia in any other cases. In fact, only two people in real life have been known to acquire synesthesia from brain injury (which is how Cho Rim got hers, too).

    Like

  2. Pingback: Taking A Dare! -Asian drama Style Day 11 to 15! |

What do you think?

