Currently Watching: Orange Marmalade

Orange-Marmalade-Poster1Hmmmm, I really like the name. And who does not like orange marmalade on a wheat toast, right? But heh, we are not talking about that. We are talking about webtoon turned drama on KBS2 that started airing on May 15. Yes, this drama. Orange Marmalade. Before I started it, I thought I would give the webtoon a try. I read up to ep 20 something… The verdict? Too slow. I quit and hoped that the drama would be better. I know an adaptation from a webtoon to a drama can be a hit or miss. Writers often took what’s important, retained good characters and moved on with the story. I have seen a lot of webtoon dramas and most of them are quite nice. And I usually don’t read the original toon so my perspective came directly from watching the drama itself. But this time, I am a bit biased and read the toon instead. *shakes head* It’s a big mistake on my part and I shouldn’t have read it! Whacha ma called it? Peer pressure? Something like that! *hides in the corner*

041303-e1428894488870

Thank goodness I stop sooner because first of all, my expectation was set up really high when I started watching Orange Marmalade. Yeah, the drama is completely off from the original and now it is heading to an unknown territory. Well, I’m not sure whether the next part of the drama is as written in the toon but for all I know, and my gut feeling says so, it is going downhill. Wae? The development of characters. Wait… what development? This drama moves too fast it skipped the formality of who’s who and what’s what! The writers expect the viewers to know everything! Hell, not everyone read the manhwa and even for me, what makes they think we would understand the story fully? First of all, the target audience for Orange Marmalade is mostly teens and young adult. If the stories are hanging and hoping that these two groups of watchers would get it, the writers should think again! And c’mon, it is a vampire drama and it supposed to be mysterious, fun and full of admiration! What is this I’m watching? And at one point, this drama is turning into Monstar! Why????

033102

I’m not going to dwell over how disaster this drama is with you. All I know is it made me utterly lost and somewhat disappointed with the plots. Yeo Jin Goo is a great cast as Jae Min. I’m not even comparing him to cold Jae Min in manhwa. They are two separate personalities. But sadly, I feel that Jin Goo is wasting his time. He has so much potential and this drama is a waste of his mature talent. Seol Hyun isn’t bad. I’ve seen her in Ugly Alert. Though she still needs much coaching in acting, she is definitely improving. But as Ma Ri, I’d rather keep her from talking to be honest. Yes, I’m being picky. Jong Hyun as Shi Hoo is another important character in this drama. Also another waste of talent. *shrugs* I feel sad already…

fullsizephoto595647

I made the right choice of not watching Blood. I should have made the same executive decision by not falling for Orange Marmalade. Too bad I did. *head banging* And after 4 episodes, it is now officially dropped from my watching list. The preview for episode 5 seems like the drama is moving to a different period of time. The writers are using Jin Goo to lure audience again… What’s the point? I am shallow but not THAT shallow. Urgh… If you share the same sentiment as I am, I think it is time to drop this disaster drama. For those who can bear it, carry on… And good luck!

photo589705

5 thoughts on “Currently Watching: Orange Marmalade

  1. The verdict is not out yet. For those who have read the original toon the plot has been changed dramatically. The Marmelade is less orange and more strawberry; and since I prefer red than orange this is going to the right direction…at least, for me and perhaps others that are not teenagers anymore!

    Like

      • I think the number of episodes are 12, and since the story by and large has been altered, the up-tempo of the plot is useful and probably necessary, as well!

        Like

        • It’s 12 episodes but KBS are known for good special dramas with rich stories under 4 episodes. I feel that the writers are forcing themselves to drop few necessary elements that could and should help with the direction of OM. Oh well, I can’t ask for more and just so happened I’m picky today… Sigh.

          But Hari, I love your metaphor of strawberry rather than orange. It is a completely different drama. My friend told me to get over it and just watch it lol. I will think. 😉

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: ORANGE MARMALADE. KBS 2. | IKurate

What do you think?

