Currently Watching: High Society

Upcoming Drama “High Society” Releases First Set of Posters

Whoa! An upgrade version of Heirs? Sign me up! And with Sung Joon as the main lead? Hello, I am so in! *licks* *giggles*. Plus, ZE:A’s Hyungsik is back. *smiles*. Great cast, eh? But the title gives me the impression that we are in it for the young, bold, beautiful and rich! Urgh, I hate dramas with nothing but featuring the rich lifestyles. But after watching several episodes, High Society defies the lifestyles. Somewhat. But I do like the idea of a chaebol girl working her hardest to have a normal life like us. The idea is kinda fresh and different. Plus, I don’t recall seeing girl shower scenes in life. Well, maybe I have but High Society gave a great fan service for Uee’s fans as they did with Sung Joon’s fans. Ahhhh… it is definitely balance.

HighSociety41

I had a hard time blogging this drama due to several reasons. I know majority of watchers love this show. Most of them are for the second lead, which I completely get it. My reason is for the first lead. Prior to the latest episodes, I was extremely disappointed with the lead. I feel that the sparks between the two were rather boring. The feelings I crave for I only found it with the second lead. *sigh* Really, the second lead stole the thunder completely! The chemistry between Ji Yi and Chang Soo are much more interesting than Joon Ki and Yoon Ha. But I found the table has turned recently. Yoon Ha finally snapped out of her fantasy but Ji Yi sunk in deeper and sounded too shallow to me. Oy, I despise shallow character so, so much. But hey, I’m not shooting the messenger… I will shoot the writer for making Ji Yi’s character shallow and childish.

HighSociety03-00737a

High Society describes the life of young, rich and beautiful still in search for their own identity in this twisted world. Yoon Ha despised her status as a rich girl and feels that she should make her own living. But to live in disguise is difficult. She is constantly trying to run away from her status but somehow, it is difficult. It is funny that she wanted to make her own living but still driving her luxury car and living in her mansion home. *scratches head* Well, so much for being independent, eh? Anywho, being rich came with a prize. Being the last child in the family, she is not only the rebel one but also the better one among her sisters. She is loved dearly by her brother but her mom hated her so much. Yoon Ha questioned her existence but eventually was shut by the same DNA she shared with her mom. This is truly the worse case I have ever seen in a rich kdrama land. She was arranged to meet Chang Soo not knowing that he is the Director in the supermarket she currently working in.

04-high-society-episode-01-Uee-korean-drama-fashion

Joon Ki met and fell for Yoon Ha for the first time the minute he saw her in a hotel elevator. When he found out that she is a chaebol daughter, he started to pursue her. Well, we can call him a gold digger all we want but to him, he has his own reason. This is a survival. A stepping stone so to speak. But I do have a beef with him. Even though he is proud of his family, he was ashamed of his father’s occupation. Pathetic, really. Since then, he is determined to make a better living for himself but his intention for a better life is a bit selfish. Prior to meeting Yoon Ha, he was dating another rich chaebol. Coincident or not, we all know where he is heading with his current life.

maxresdefault

Yoon Ha and Joon Ki met and it was a love of a different kind. She saw him as a man that would accept her regardless of her background. Sadly, unknowing to her, Joon Ki already know her background and was just playing along as she madly in love with him. We could see him developing love for her but his intention trumped his feeling. When she caught on to him, her furious was unbearable that she is now willing to use her status to get on him. But how far is she willing to do that? Will she understand if she is in his shoe? Joon Ki never shy to admit what he did to her and my feeling is that the reason he was frank was because he is genuinely falling for her. *shrugs* I don’t know, what do you think? Let me know… I’m not sure if I want to recommend High Society. It was a hard watch for me but not for others. Just go by the ears if you think you want to watch it. For me, I do not see a happy ending for this show but who knows, I could be wrong…

7 thoughts on “Currently Watching: High Society

  1. Gold digger he might be but his logic made TOTAL sense! And because of that, I saw Joon Ki in a totally different light. Yes, the second leads definitely stole the show in the 1st half of the drama, no doubt but overall, I’ve been SURPRISED how much I liked this drama despite its plot holes and drama troupes. So, I’ve decided to wait until the end so I can skip the silly season! Yoon Ha should worry more about those vipers in her family than Joon Ji, personally!!

    Like

  2. First things first, I can’t see how this drama may have an unhappy ending in the middle of the summer and with this particular cast. An open ending, yes it is more aproppriate imho.
    The real problem here is the cast of the four leads which probably urged the necessity for a completely different focus plot-wise. It could very well be an essay on ‘Happiness and the factors that determine it” or even something more like “A journey into real adulthood: Myths and realities”.

    So that alone brings lots and lots of questions: Should JK’s character be a bit older? I think yes. Should the revelations on what’s realistic and what’s fantasy in setting one’s life goals come earlier? That would make a lot more sense. Should the big brother’s “suicide” or “disappearance” trigger huge changes in YH’s family? By all means, but unfortunately that hasn’t happened yet

    The only reasonable person in this total mess still is JK’s mother who speaks the right things at the right moment like any normal and sensible viewer would have done…That’s why I like her and because she’s the writer’s plot device to put into words what the audiences of the drama find difficult to comprehend 🙂

    Like

    • Omgoah Hari, I just saw your comment. Mian. At the time of my watch, I was thinking a really unhappy ending but now I’m thinking open ending. Either way, I’m unhappy. JK’s mom is the only light in this show. All four characters are driven by hormone tbh. At this moment, I truly wanna see how they end this. We have 4 more episodes and the only thing I care now is Yoon Ha’s oppa making a comeback and kiss his noona into curb. I despise her so much.

      As for JK, he doesn’t make any sense to me now. I literally rolling my eyes at the thought of him. His words are just… Deceiving. What do you think?

      Liked by 1 person

      • JK’s probably changing his mind. Things don’t go the way they were planned, do they? A slice of real life, I guess. Not so much as deceiving but more as figuring things out, himself, his friend, his gf, everyone.
        What might have happened to YH’s brother? A great mystery that the writer should have used it sooner. Unless they were supposed to do a 20-episode drama and had saved some ideas , I don’t get why we had to wait until now for such a huge revelation, right? 🙂

        Like

          • The 2 love stories consumed most of the time, imo. Not that I complain but it had a severe impact on the plot. Perhaps we’ll be watching that story in the writer’s next project, right? I’ve seen that hapening in k-dramaland time and again! 😉

            Like

What do you think?

