Currently Watching: Hidden Identity

Hide_Identity-p1

Lately, I have been craving action dramas. I guess my rounds with some action Japanese dramas really made me think twice for my next to-watch drama. And Hidden Identity came in just in time to fill this void in my watch hole. What’s more? This is Kim Bum’s latest comeback since he broke up with Moon Geun Yong. I’m sure I was not the only one waiting for Kim Bum’s comeback to small screen. And with the preview pics of him in stache and guyliner, of course I can’t say no to that! Can you? *wiggles brows*

photo602963

Hidden Identity reminds me of Ten and Cruel City. It’s an action police drama, as it is as dark as those two (and many more dramas that I’m lazy to list them here). I typically not a fan of kdrama police drama. We all know how ridiculous and injustice the Korean law system is. But somehow I was able to stick through it. The first two episodes did it with me. I was sold completely by the entire cast. They each have their own strengths and weaknesses, but as a team, they are daebak! I truly enjoyed watching the team and the way they dealt the situation, I’m impressed. I mean, the cases are not extraordinary, but I just love the way they tackle things in their own way. Yeap, this drama is interesting in its own way.

photo602971

So what is Hidden Identity about? Just by its title, the team was created secretly and perhaps no approval given by the top. It is consisted of 6 undercover police officers that led by Team Leader Jang. Each of them has their own abilities to fight crime in any means they have. They will do whatever they can to hunt the criminal. Under the Team Leader Jang’s fierce leadership, they were able to catch the criminal. However, the one main plot that get carried away throughout the series is the revenge Min Tae In forever carrying with him. His sister was killed and he is determined to find the crooks. But after 10 episodes, I still questioning his intention. I don’t know, Kim Tae Hoon is notorious for playing baddie so it is difficult to actually see him on the good side. I will feel at ease if he remains the good detective until the end of the series.

photo602960

Back to Hidden Identity, Team Leader Jang recruited Cha Geoun Woo as his sniper man. Coincidentally, he was given an undercover mission by his Leader to save another team member that was trapped and his under cover was blown by the crooks. Unknowingly, the person Woo had to save is none other than Min Tae In. They have a history together. They are connected through Tae In’s sister. Woo dated Tae In’s sister and he witnessed the brawl that caused her life. So to meet again at such situation, it was not only awkward but also felt that they are meant to meet again. You can totally see the reaction between the two through their eye contact, and Tae In’s life was totally depending on Woo’s move. Well, this was one of the nail-biting situations you get to see in Hidden Identity. Throughout the 10 episodes, the team will work to solve the crime and at the same time, you will expose to clues that would lead Woo and Tae In closer to find the murderer.

photo602967

Well, the question now becomes would I recommend it to you? I’m in a tough spot. I was completely blown away by the first two episodes but felt I was let down the next two episodes. And then, the climax came in waves… Episode 9 and 10 were very suspense yet awesome, I couldn’t sit still. Hidden Identity is not for everyone. There is no romance and there will be no romance. Also, I found Hidden Identity drowned by OCN’s action drama, My Beautiful Bride (review to come soon). I found My Beautiful Bride more intriguing and exciting than Hidden Identity. Nevertheless, Hidden Identity is worth watching if you don’t mind the agenda but definitely not worth rewatching… *shrugs* that’s how I see it.

One thought on “Currently Watching: Hidden Identity

  1. Pingback: HIDE YOUR IDENTITY. TVN. | IKurate

What do you think?

