Currently Watching: You’re The Best Lee Soon Shin

photo289874

Waaaaaahhhh it has been awhile since I started weekend family drama. I don’t even remember my last weekend drama to be honest. Was it Goddess of Marriage? Ooooh ooh ooh it was Wonderful Days! Wait wait, wow…. Can you see the pattern? One weekend family drama per year! I don’t even know how I could stand watching crazy daily dramas but I can’t stand weekend dramas. I know… *raises brow* Most likely it is because daily drama is 30 minutes long whereas weekend is an hour long. It is harder to walk away on an hour long angsty drama. At least that’s how I feel…

The_Best_Lee_Soon-Shin-0010

But anyway I decided to watch You’re The Best Lee Soon Shin (YTBLSS) because I saw few episodes while I was in Malaysia. It got my attention and I laughed so hard for the few episodes. Of course I’m not laughing now since the story has moved on from comedy to real drama. Another thing I wanted to mention is Jo Jung Suk. Because of him in this show I gave Oh My Ghost a watch. I was impressed by him but in YTBLSS, he is actually better. I like the way he carry himself as Junho. He’s not too cocky as a rich CEO and knows his place well. You can almost feel him when he’s sad, happy, frustrated, and angry. In my opinion though, he’s not the best looking actor (at least to my eyes), but his acting skill is super impressive *thumbs up*. Well, enough evaluating Jo Jung Suk for now… Let’s focus on the real deal. The show. You’re The Best Lee Soon Shin.

The_Best_Lee_Soon-Shin-0020

The reason I did not watch it immediately was because of the title. I don’t know, I guess I really judged it by the title! Mian, it is just me and my ignorance self. I know I shouldn’t and I regret it now. I really like this show. When I first tweeted it, I received mixed responses. A few liked it, but mostly said they were frustrated and couldn’t finish it. Maybe because I’m marathoning it, the so called “crazy and madness” are completely breeze to me. In fact, as a season daily drama watcher, YTBLSS did not scare me at all. I truly enjoy it so much! I do not need any cat toys nor scream foul words. Yeah… and the drama made quite a lot of sense. The reasons for the characters to get angry and the way they resolved it can be very dramatic at times but then, it is not kdrama without the ridiculous plots, right?

The_Best_Lee_Soon-Shin-0044

YTBLSS is a 50-episode drama focusing on the life of Lee Soon Shin. She is the youngest daughter in the family but with zero talent. She applied for many jobs but continuously getting rejected. She later was scouted by an entertainment agency. The agent’s name is Shin Junho and they signed up a contract with him in a restaurant located underneath the agency. IThe contract was so believable to Soon Shin and her mom that they signed up immediately and paid up $10,000 at front. Well, as expected, she was actually conned. She hang out in the restaurant hoping to meet the conman and started waitressing in hoping to catch the conman. Needless to say, she was unable to catch the conman but finally, met up with the real Shin Junho! *dun dun dun*

The_Best_Lee_Soon-Shin-0008

Shin Junho is the CEO of an entertainment agency and agreed to a bet with a useless actress that once was his ex-girlfriend and his actress under his agency. She said that if he could turn Soon Shin to be a superstar actress, she will stop asking him to take her back into his agency (as well as his girlfriend). Yeap, yeoreobun… That was some idiot bet. But Soon Shin was skeptical in the beginning but since she was short on cash after being conned, she signed a contract with him. At this time, her mom has lost faith and insisted of her not to ever talk about acting. Plus, with sudden death of her dad, and for her mom to find that Soon Shin could be her husband’s daughter with his longtime girlfriend, her relationship with her mom became more tense. I can see why some watchers cannot watch it coz it can be a little harsh but heh, I’m used to it.

The_Best_Lee_Soon-Shin-0053

So the story moves to Soon Shin sneaking out from her house and attending acting class with Song Mi Ryeong, a veteran actress, who happens to be under Junho’s agency. However, right before her auditioning for a role, her name was cut from the list! Song Mi Ryeong did it out of spite after knowing that Soon Shin is her first’ lover’s daughter. But what she doesn’t know is that Soon Shin IS her daughter! And then the sudden misunderstanding in Soon Shin’s household as her mom, sisters and grandma thought that Soon Shin’s dad cheated with Mi Ryeong. All this misunderstanding could have been solved had all sit in one sitting and talk. But hey, then there won’t be any dramas, would they? *giggle*

The_Best_Lee_Soon-Shin-0057

I confessed YTBLSS is currently my krack drama. I put hold the rest of my drama watching for this show. I crave for new episode every time I completed one. It has a good mixture of feelings in one drama and I’m not sure whether all issues can be resolved under 50 episodes. There are many twisty plots but as a season drama watcher, I’m used to it. The romance between Soon Shin and Junho is a snail pace but I think I can handle it. I’m currently on episode 33… wait episode 34 now *giggle*. See, this drama is just so gooooood! Alright, forget everything… Just watch YTBLSS. It is awesome! It’s worth it!

The_Best_Lee_Soon-Shin-0054

4 thoughts on “Currently Watching: You’re The Best Lee Soon Shin

What do you think?

