Currently Watching: Five Children

20164578145570812500

I can’t believe I boarded on Five Children train!!!! Seriously, I was not expecting this! In the beginning, the synopsis did not grasp me. It sounded too makjang for my taste. And then last month, I was browsing the tv channels in my hotel room and Five Children was on. Episode 11 to be exact. So I watched. And watched. And continue to watch until the end. It didn’t feel makjang at all. In fact, it felt very earthy and comedy-ish. I immediately got hooked on the show. Obviously, I did not want to pull a Grace so I decided to start it from the beginning. And as of last week, I saw the newly subbed aired episodes! Yeap, I managed to catch up!!! I was so determined to do so mainly because I wanted to start on another new drama and I will not start until I’m caught up with Five Children! *giggles* I feel like a champ now! *flexes her biceps*

76238296.2

384131_177063_195

So Five Children is a great family drama and it is currently my current crack family weekend drama! It is been very smooth and easy to watch up until last week. But I think something huge is about to happen. I mean, think about it, it’s not a family drama without crazy hair pulling, fist punching, and cussing! Also, I feel that after 28 episodes, this drama though is seriously wasted a lot of time on the second brother. His story is the most uninteresting one of the bunch. But hey, I know it is a family drama and all family drama loves incorporating every single character’s background story. I personally feel it could have been done in a more productive way. Nevertheless, I’m still enjoying Five Children the most for two reasons: the divorced couple and the golf couple! Who are they? Well, *rubs hands*, allow me to give you my version through their romance *wink*.

4549179952594944

1456548029_1

Sang Tae and Mi Jung: They are both single. Sang Tae is a widow with two kids. After his sick wife died, he moved in with his in-laws. Who does that? Shouldn’t he go with his family? Anyway, that’s what he did and his in-laws appreciated his consideration. I find him rather gentleman for what he did. Mi Jung, on the other hand, is a divorcee. Her husband cheated on her with her best friend! That basturd! She has been divorced for three years but her children, 3 kids, were left clueless. They assumed that their dad is in the US for work. Even Mi Jung’s grandmother was clueless!

456715_278682_1218

The two met at their workplace. Mi Jung got hired as an Assistant Manager to Team Leader Lee Sang Tae. In the beginning, Mi Jung felt that Sang Tae has given a romance vibe but the misunderstanding forces them to distance themselves. Eventually, they sorted out their feelings for each other and started dating. The only problem is Sang Tae’s in-laws, especially his mother in law, are not happy that he’s seeing Mi Jung. In my opinion, his mother in law has no right in stopping him and his dating life. Throwing tantrum will not change the back the fact that her daughter is dead! BUT, there is another hurdle Sang Tae has yet to see. Though his dad will understand, his mom will also deny Mi Jung, too. So what would Sang Tae do? Should he please his family or himself?

 

Sang Min and Yun Tae: These two singles met in an unexpected way. Yun Tae, Sang Tae’s youngest sibling, is heartbroken. Jin Joo, Sang Tae’s sister in law and Yun Tae’s friend, likes Tae Min. Tae Min and Yun Tae have been friends for years but Yun Tae never confessed her love for him! Her shyness gave Tae Min away to Jin Joo. Devastated, she walked out of the club drunk and got into what she thought to be a taxi. It turns out, she got into Sang Min’s car. Sang Min is a professional yet diva-ish golfer. He is a bit weird to a sense that can be very ignorant and naive at the same time. It is hard to describe his personality. He definitely an edgy diva!

2016030409485497890-540x432

fullsizephoto687944

Anyway, the two met when she got into his car drunk. He kicked her out of the car. Yun Tae accidentally took his phone. Diva Sang Min was concerned over his phone and made Yun Tae shut it off. However, before the phone exchange, Sang Min’s constant harassment made Yun Tae’s insecurity deeper. Something happened later that after the phone exchange, Sang Min continuously to harass her. She definitely aroused his curiosity. He was puzzled how Yun Tae, not once, attracted to his handsome look! *laughs* The man then went from completely psycho to madly in love with Yun Tae. He has found his way into her home and now, he’s working on getting into her heart! But devastated Yun Tae is still heartbroken… Can he make her forget her crush and go to him instead?

article_14132851969301

So what these four have in common? Sang Min is the model and spokesperson for Sang Tae’s company. Yun Tae is Sang Tae’s sister. And unknown to Yun Tae, Tae Min is Sang Min’s younger brother. Yeap, it’s a small world, isn’t it? Typical kdrama plots, chingu! There are other interesting side stories you should be aware, too. Some  are funny, some are just… meh. But who cares… that’s what FF button is for! *giggle* Now, please get your azz and park them on your couch (where it should be!). Five Children is one hilarious and comical family drama. One must not miss this show. Every year, there is that one fabulous family drama and I can say Five Children is the one! Watch it! I’ll judge you if you aren’t watching it! *evil eyes*

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Currently Watching: Five Children

  1. I could have told you how good this was! I’ve been okay with the pace and favor the couples that you mentioned too! The next 20 ep will be interesting as we see how long it takes for our future family of 8 overcome their hurdles. I sure hope we get a wedding by ep 40 and some family life for the rest! A nice edition of family member number 9 would be fun too!

    Like

    • I secretly wish for family number 9 as well. This is going to be a tough wedding. Knowing KBS, they will make us wait until the end for happy wedding. For some reason, this writer reminds me of the writer for Assorted Gem and New Tales of Gisaeng!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Currently Watching: Heaven’s Promise  |

  3. Pingback: Currently Watching: Age of Youth |

  4. Pingback: Currently Watching: Laurel Tree Tailors |

What do you think?

