Currently Watching: The Royal Gambler aka Jackpot

i

So I started my post and I forgot all about it… And since it was saved on my work laptop, I am not going to complain and decided to rewrite it. This post is definitely overdue. The Royal Gambler (aka Jackpot) has done airing and I placed this drama on hold because I wanted to finish blogging it before enjoying the last 5 episodes. I noticed that there are not many people on my Twitter timeline watching it. I wonder why… Is it because of Jang Geun Seuk? Or no one is interested in this drama? Hmmm… *rubs chin*

SR48312293_w1280_h720

Jackpot has been on my radar ever since I found out that Jang Geun Seuk is in it. I’m fond of his acting so I wanted to watch this because of him. I have never seen him  in sageuk drama and I thought this is my chance to see him before he gets enlisted. Seriously, I’m so thankful that I am because the story is captivating and awesome. I’m not a history buff so what I saw, sadly, I believe in it. I should check the fact but too lazy to do so *shrugs*. Anyway, I’m entertained by Jackpot. Every time I watch the show, I pray that the show will not end. I find it so amusing and interesting. Plus, I have never seen this side of Geun Seuk before. He really put his pretty face aside and not afraid to dive down into dirt and mud.

IE001944898_STD

This 24 episodes drama received an average rating of 8/10 on MDL. I am quite happy with that. The show did go a bit crazy and unrealistic midway but the performances by the casts remain top notch. Well, except for Im Ji Yeon. Her performance isn’t bad. I nicknamed her the second Jin Se Yeon *giggle*. Anyway, what I dislike about Jackpot is the repetitive plots. I know this is common among period drama but you know what, these directors need a wake-up call. Why? Repetitive plots bore us to death and it is not only waste our time, it resulted to some of us to drop the show! C’mon, PD-nim… Learn from it!

yeoning

*clears throat* now that’s out of my system, let’s focus a bit on the story. It was sad in the beginning. Dae Gil had a tough life. He was born premature and got thrown out of the palace because the King believe he was the cause of drought and believed that the boy is not his child. The Queen’s ex-husband took Dae Gil and raised him as his own thinking that Dae-Gil IS his own son. Pardon me if you got confused a bit because I totally skip the history between the Queen, the King, and the Queen’s ex-husband. Dae Gil life went mayhem as he was raised by his dad as a gambler. He won a few but lost too many. Dae Gil continuously challenged by Lee In Jwa. Dae Gil had to gamble his life and realized that In Jwa is correct all along. But deep down, he doubts In Jwa’s intention but unable to dodge him. For now.

1459123823-84

Meanwhile, In Jwa resented the King. Why? He believes the throne is his after what happened to his family. He uses Dam Seo and brainwashed her into thinking that the King caused the death of her father. In Jwa has a purpose. He keeps Dae Gil closer to him because he knows the boy’s royalty background. Right now, the combination of raising Dam Seo as an assassin, starting a fire between Dae Gil and Prince Yeo Ning, and keeping Dae Gil under the dark is In Jwa’s weapon to achieve his dream. To kill the King Suk Jong.

jackpot08-00346

See? What did I tell you? This show is fascinating had the writer and PD did not screw it up with repetitive and silly plots. But I would still recommend Jackpot. The story is very engaging. The performance is superb. The OST is wonderful! The cinematography is beautiful. To hear this from a saguek hater, Jackpot really is amazing. Again, I have to emphasize that Jang Geun Seuk’s performance is unbelievably great! The show may make no sense to you, so please be prepare if you decided to watch it. Overall, I highly recommend The Royal Gambler. *wipes sweat* Now if you excuse me, I’m going to finish this show. If you don’t hear from by Wednesday, you know I’m somewhere in the corner crying… T____T

00a1ab2519a78a03aab450fa9eedbaae

6 thoughts on “Currently Watching: The Royal Gambler aka Jackpot

  1. Thanks for the post. I just skimmed since I haven’t started it. I’m still working my way through “Six Flying Dragons” on 38, so only 12 more episodes to go. It’s so intense I can only watch a couple of episodes then I get distracted and end of going back after a couple of weeks. I’m also watching “The Flower in Prison” which I’m enjoying. Looking forward to seeing “The Royal Gambler” soon. Hope you enjoy the remainder of the show!

    Like

      • Hi! I’m on the 44th episode of Six Flying Dragons. It’s been amazing. It’s well-written, cinematography is beautiful and directing is excellent. The acting is spot-on. The drama is interspersed with light and funny moments but has lot of tension, betrayal, spying, ancient secret organizations, I could go on and on. I think my key word for this drama would be intense, and that’s probably why it’s taken me so long to watch it. I can only watch 2 or 3 episodes at a time. I heartily recommend it.
        The Royal Gambler is on my list and look forward to watching.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Currently Watching: Mirror of the Witch |

What do you think?

