Currently Watching: Happy Marriage?! aka Hapi Mari

91MbZaQL_7419cc_f

Happy Marriage?! is cursed! *sobs badly*. My love for Dean is definitely forbidden. The subber is super busy with RL and my watch is now on hold… tsk tsk tsk. Bel and I and other Happy Marriage?! fans are left in limbo and stuck on episode 5. Some of us decided to watch raw episodes. I know how the feel. The power of Dean. I could do it but I’d like to pay more attention to the show. I’m curious and therefore, not willing to watch it raw. Sorry Dean, it’s not that I don’t like you… I just need to understand the story. *shrug*

640x360-WZX

Happy Marriage! is slated for 12 episodes. I’m a bit surprised that the drama is this long. It is rare for Japanese dramas. But since each episode is about 35 minutes long, I think it isn’t bad. Once a week airing though is stabbing my heart deeply *sigh*. Anyway,… As I’m typing this, the subber finally released subbed episode 6 and 7. Of course, I just saw it *beams*. And apparently, she will release episode 8 soon. I really appreciate her hard work. I wish I have learned the language so I could help her out too.

456782_615

So Happy Marriage?! is adapted from a manga of the same title. However, I do not know if the story follows the exact plot. But I do know one thing, Chiwa is one insecure girl. Her dad is a serial gambler and she works two jobs to support themselves and to pay his mountain of debt. One night, as she works as a hostess, she met Hokuto but she found him so offensive that she splashed a glass of water onto him. The next day, she found him at the front door willing to compensate the debt her father owed with loan sharks. She was dumbfounded by his generosity. But his generosity comes with a price! She must marry him! A rational woman would not marry him for money! Wait, that doesn’t sound good. Maybe some would marry for money. Well, let’s not argue. Chiwa, on the other hand, is desperate to get out of the mess her dad did and agreed to Hokuto’s proposal. This contract marriage is not looking good, ladies… *worried*

CleavwdVAAE_Azs

The reason Hokuto approached Chiwa was because she is the granddaughter of his grandfather’s ex. Hokuto has different means and wanted to please his family. Besides, since Chiwa looks like her grandfather’s ex, Hokuto feels he will have the advantage in the family. The two got married eventually but they went through a lot to get where they are. Hokuto is known to be manipulative but Chiwa doesn’t know that. She heard it from his dad. Chiwa is too weak and easily influenced. Her awareness radar is low. She’s pretty but really, I do not know how a success man like Hokuto sees in her. Status wise, they are in two different playgrounds.

Cld7SfLVEAAQ-ta

Hokuto is a success man with many admirers, especially women. On the other hand, a colleague is liking Chiwa more and more. Hokuto warned her that she cannot see other men but him. Urgh, that sounds very selfish, isn’t it? Chiwa obliged to his request. I don’t know whether she should. After all, this is a contract marriage. She may love Hokuto but we don’t get his real feeling. I could see in his eyes that he is for real but his arrogant action really gives her mix messages. In the end, is this another Happy Marriage?! Let’s find out together! By the way, this is an Amazon-produced drama. Well, they did not pay me to say that… But who knows they might *laugh*

06c8529522ad55316af1b5b157f59a77

30 thoughts on “Currently Watching: Happy Marriage?! aka Hapi Mari

  1. I still haven’t been able to watch ep 7. The place that I’ve been watching it is not working properly anymore. Everything slows down to crawl and then just stops. I keep getting to the part where the 2nd lead visits the father. What’s up with her? Is she only helping on the surface hoping to break them up? Is she visiting the father only to have an “in”? And why is Chiwa so insecure. I’m telling you right now: if Dean ever looked at me like that, I’d become insufferably arrogant. She is waking up next to him and playing bed games. You are the winner Chiwa. Fight like the winner you are!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Omg Mrs. B… I am disappointed with Chiwa. Even though I understand her background, I can’t help but criticizing her insecurity and letting the other woman see her husband. Why can’t she fight for her right? So bad! Yes, the second lead wants to separate them badly. And she can smell Chiwa’s weak points miles away! Urgh…. I really want to slap Chiwa. She can nag at her dad, so why can’t she do it to others?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I still haven’t been able to watch ep 7. The place that I’ve been watching it is not working properly anymore. Everything slows down to crawl and then just stops. I keep getting to the part where the 2nd lead visits the father. What’s up with her? Is she only helping on the surface hoping to break them up? Is she visiting the father only to have an “in”? And why is Chiwa so insecure. I’m telling you right now: if Dean ever looked at me like that, I’d become insufferably arrogant. She is waking up next to him and playing bed games. You are the winner Chiwa. Fight like the winner you are!!!

    Like

  3. (When you said some of us watched it raw I started laughing at myself)Omg ep 9 was amazing!! Now to wait on subs and when I saw the end of ep 8vmy heart stops. She has so many insecurities because technically they don’t know each other and he likes to sheild her from thing COMMUNICATION IS KEY!! But if it was me that girl would not even have a chance to be near my husband, he already said he doesn’t like her. Both girls ate insecure and us def tactics but after 9 I think she feels better

    Like

What do you think?

