Currently Watching: The K2

plpgj7n1_c1ec06_f

I don’t know what got into me that I decided to watch The K2. To be honest, I wanted to watch something dear hub would get excited. Clearly by mid episode 1 he fell asleep. I’m not surprised. I, on the other hand, was hoping that The K2 will be as cool as Healer, Cruel City or City Hunter. Yes, I had expectation. It’s rare but I did. Clearly I should have not because as of right now, I really want to drop it. Especially after seeing episode 13. But I’m too deep into the drama to back out. Many people advise me to drop it. I know I should have. But since The K2 is ending this week, I feel I might as well give it a go. Two more episodes… Two more episodes. I can do this.

d4vw2n51_f0dc0c_f

So, if you are watching this drama, I’m sure you know why I want to drop this show. In the beginning, I was looking forward to see the romance between the bodyguard aka Je Ha and Anna, the candidate’s daughter. I was hoping for the sweet, sweet love blossom into a secret garden. And then something else happened. Choi Yoo Jin. Anna’s stepmom. Je Ha’s sleek move from taking Yoo Jin as his hostage into saving her life from local terrorist, then and there I, and I’m sure all of us who are watching it too, saw myself shipping them instead. This is absolute wrong! Where is this writer taking us??? The woman who power craze falling for her stepdaughter’s bodyguard? And what’s more, she herself feeling jealousy when she saw Anna’s love for Je Ha?

ciso1

Yeah, it is wrong. This is why most of us who saw it dropped it. I understand how they feel. But I remain calm and curious. The if questions in my head keep me from dropping the show. And I somewhat glad I did not. I saw her true feeling for Je Ha by the end of episode 14. What’s more, when Je Ha revealed her childish love to her (and in front of the doctor), I can’t help but to evil laugh at her! Choi Yoo Jin secretly in love with Je Ha and wants him to be her slave. Not in this life, woman! Do you know how old you are? Oooh I forgot, money buys everything.

the-k2-episode-5-recap

What I love about The K2 is Choi Yoo Jin herself. She is a two-faced villain. Her portrayal of  a ladylike wife to presidential candiate Jang See Joon in the limelight and a mastermind for her husband’s election as well as taking everyone down is something only a perfect villain could do. Yoo Jin is perfect. It’s been her dream from young. She killed Anna’s mom, married her dad and granted his wish to run for the presidential candidate. She is willing to do everything. All for herself. All because she is a chaebol daughter. Truly, money buys everything including her puppet, See Joon.

4946_10

What I hate about The K2 is Anna. I definitely feel they cast the wrong actress. I love sweet Yoona but her portrayal as the damsel is weak and dull. I can’t feel her love for Je Ha. I can’t feel her motivation to revenge for her late mom. I can’t feel her driven to want to escape the life she’s currently in. I feel that the writer did not develop Anna’s character well enough. This makes me sad. Another undeveloped main character going down the drain… Sorry, Yoona. I hope you get a better role next time.

fullsizephoto773375

As I said before, The K2 will end this week. What I’m hoping from this show? Happy ending, of course. I really want to see Choi Yoo Jin going down and hoping as she going down to hell, she will drag all her evil minions and peers with her, too. I want to see how this writer punish Yoo Jin for her evil sins. I really hope for justice. I also hope that See Joon will not win the election simply because his motive isn’t right. He may have the face but his mind and soul are corrupt! Finally, I do want to see Je Ha and Anna love one another. This is easy. The not so easy part is to watch the final two episodes.

the-k2-korean-drama-spoilers-je-ha-saves-yoo-jin-action-drama-topped-weekend-ratings

Will I recommend the show? No, I will not recommend this show. This Cinderella and Snow White like drama is awesome but the characters are poorly written and the writer lost his/her grip with the story line. There is nothing a director can do about the story even though the performance and execution were done at 1000%. I can see Ji Chang Wook and Song Yoon Ah gave all they can in this drama. I really hope this writer will do his/her homework in future. It is a shame that this drama is turning very shallow. If you do decide to watch it anyway, please do not expect another Healer. It is not. I am disappointed. I will choose my next drama wisely.

10 thoughts on “Currently Watching: The K2

  1. I totally agree with you about this show. I started it not knowing what to expect but ended up extremely disappointed after about four episodes. I held on for a few more but I couldn’t bear to watch anymore since the drama is really lacking in character development for some characters like Anna but not in others, like Yoo Jin. This is my first time seeing Yoona act and I like her as a person but I feel this role did not suit her, either because of the writing or because she couldn’t really get into character. I did drop it but since you have only two episodes left I guess you might as well see how they decide to end it. Either way, I definitely can relate to your disappointment.

    Like

  2. Whaaaaat it’s ending this week?! I totally didn’t know that, it feels like they haven’t… wrapped anything up. I agree with your analysis, but I’ve loved it anyway. It’s one of those “This is so bad but I just have to watch” dramas for me.

    Like

  3. I’ve watched 9 eps of this, and am try to figure out whether I want to continue. I’m not feeling this one, tbh. Even Yoo Jin isn’t as interesting to me now than in the beginning.. :/

    Like

What do you think?

