Just Watched: Scarlet Heart Ryeo

71g7dz71_02fec4_f

It just so happened that Scarlet Heart Ryeo was aired around the same time Moonlight Drawn by Clouds. Because it started airing two weeks later, my focus was mainly on the other drama. But to be honest, I usually don’t do this. Last time when Kill Me, Heal Me was aired, Jekyll, Hide and Me was airing too. I’m not a big fan when two similar genre or theme drama airing at the same time slot. Almost always one will get neglected. Fortunately for Scarlet Heart, I decided to pick it up because it has different story plots than Moonlight.

d3krwdal_b5f402_f

The show ended in early November. It ended with a bang! I was stunned. The ending was not as I imagined it to be. It feels incomplete. Someone told me to draw my own conclusion. I usually am good at that but for some reason, I was being stubborn and refuse to do so. I mean the show, despite the flaws which I really did not mind, ended abruptly as if it was edited by a newbie! The certain loopholes got me really frustrated and disappointed. The writer ran out of time! How could you run out of time? Certainly bad planning! If she wants me to watch her next work, she better work on planning and coordinating her writings well!

81y8eb74_07b229_f

One thing to adapt from the original Scarlet Heart, but as a writer, she should have challenged herself and determined to outbid the original! Geez, this is just a lazy work. She wasted good talents’ time and effort! Prop to the PD for giving us beautiful cinematography; but his direction can be a bit choppy. His editors definitely should have done a better job in editing. Some scenes seemed choppy. Prop to the costume designer for giving us such beautiful costumes, though. I really adore them. I really love UI’s earrings. I wish I could keep them! Prop to the musical director for giving us a beautiful soundtrack! Till this day, I still listen to the OST.

b3ezzwx4_f16ef9_f

Scarlet Heart: Ryeo suffered a lot! I blame the writer and some would blame her and the PD for bad editing. Either way, this show was once the most anticipated drama is now the most disappointing drama of the year. So glad none of the actors and actresses are newbies. Or else it’d be tougher for them to sell out on their next role. Sigh.. what a mess. Though I enjoy the pretty and the stories, I don’t enjoy what the writer did. I wouldn’t recommend this show if you have the eyes for every little flaw. If you are able to see through it, I don’t mind you watching it. It’s watchable but please keep your expectations closed to nothing.

One thought on “Just Watched: Scarlet Heart Ryeo

  1. Pingback: Just Dropped: Hwarang  |

What do you think?

