Currently Watching: Laurel Tree Tailors

d4vwoem1_7d52df_f

Wow, it must be something in the water with KBS right now. They continue to produce great weekend family drama. Five Children was a great hit! I enjoyed it so much! If I could rewatch, I would! I was skeptical with Laurel Tree Tailors simply because of the title! And the drama poster was not to my liking. Like Five Children, I waited for reactions on the Twitter before I started it. The reviews were extremely favorable. I knew immediately that it is a cue for me to stat it. And frankly, 46 episodes later, this show does not fail me at all. Bravo to KBS. Again, the next drama has a big shoe to fill in!

1473033491-37

Where do I even begin with this show? Unlike Blow Breeze, this show makes me laugh. A lot! I did not like the beginning, though. It started a meh. This drama started with Man Sool, the president and owner of the Laurel Tree Tailors shop. He decided to run away from his family and his work and left his family in disarray. I thought it was a very bold yet selfish move by him. Needless to say, though, his disappearance united the family together. His apprentice Sam Do moved back to the city to run the tailor shop. His once arrogant son divorced his wife and started working in the shop, too. Yeon Shil, the junior apprentice, worked her hardest to escape her almost marriage to Gi-Pyo, a gangster she owed her life to. Tae Yang, Yeon Shil’s friend, struggled after his girlfriend left him for a wealthy man. Lastly, Tae Pyung, once a famous singer had to face his reality that he is no longer known to people.

1479116171-2

All these five characters unite because of Laurel Tree Tailors. The plots and twists in this drama really made it really enjoyable. Yes, it has some frustrating moments but it is way better than any other family and daily dramas. The coupling in this show is to die for. They all have their own dynamics. Sam Do and his bossy wife Sun Nyeo are the hardest couples to watch. Sun Nyeo is older than Sam Do and wanted a child. But he constantly avoiding her because really, she really is an embarrassment to him. Physically and mentally. Dong Jin fell for the apprentice, Yeon Shil. Of course, he did not fall for her immediately. He called her pretentious while all she ever wanted was to get along with her master’s son. Tae Yang had the hardest love life. His ex-girlfriend dumped him for a rich man who hired him just to torment him. He found love unexpectedly. Through his ex’s boyfriend’s sister! Small world, isn’t it? And lastly, our talented Tae Pyung. Dong Jin’s sister, Dong-Sook has been a fan of his music since she was in her 20s. She’s been so supportive of Tae Pyung. The road to their coupling hit a roadblock when her mom hooked her up with a self-made stingy, rich man.

1610302030002390

 

The side characters’ stories are as entertaining as the main leads. I really can’t find any other way to hate them. And I really can’t give you any reasons to hate this drama. The only thing I dislike was that the show got extended by another 4 episodes. I don’t know what the reason was but I am actually okay. I haven’t seen this week’s episodes but I am certainly looking forward to it. I know some watchers are sick of the main couple, Dong Jin and Yeon Shil by now. I am not but I do get it. Her loyalty is questionable, sometimes. My favorite couple of the bunches is Tae Yang (aka Kang star) and Hyo Won. I look forward to their scenes all the time! And his proposal to her was to die for. I will never eat cotton candy the same way anymore.

Laurel Tree Tailors, or known to others as The Gentlemen of Wolgyesu Tailor Shop, is a must watch family drama. I will seriously miss this show when it ends. Really, the show really brightens up my weekend. Yes, I am a fan of family weekend dramas. I may sound bias but hey, I think it is worth a shot. You won’t be disappointed! If you do *pouts*, please holla me!

9 thoughts on “Currently Watching: Laurel Tree Tailors

  1. Ooh! Maybe I need to check this out after all! I wasn’t interested coz the title & promos just didn’t seem too interesting to me. But, I really liked Five Children, & your positive recommendation definitely piques my interest! Thanks Nelly!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Currently Watching: Love is Drop by Drop |

  3. Pingback: Currently Watching: My Father is Strange |

What do you think?

