Just Watched: Your Lie in April 

b3EbP064_d791bd_f

It took me forever to finish it. For some reason, I was not keen on watching it in the beginning even though I’m a huge Kento fan. I don’t know. My mood was all over the place with this one. Part of me wants a mature romance Japanese movie and Your Lie is circa high school students. I was expecting cheesy romance.

20160805-shigatsuhakiminouso03

But I was wrong. Dead wrong. There was no romance. It’s a feel good movie. A movie about life and death, about looking at the bright side, looking for an answer, looking to move on from the past. Your Lie in April shows a great friendship is all you needed in high school. But the movie seems to be missing juices. I don’t know, sometimes I feel lost. The story was not entirely clear at one point. Nevertheless, hats off to Kento and Suzu. Their acting was brilliant. I have seen Suzu before but she really matures in this movie as Kaori. Even Kento. I really felt his fear and his sadness as Kosei.

20160805-shigatsuhakiminouso02

The lines were brilliant. I did not think this high school movie can be this brilliant! Partnered with good music, Your Lie in April is worth your time. I did not see the anime, I heard the movie lacks many details. But for me, though I saw some holes I still think it is okay to give it a try. Keep your tissues handy though… It is a sad drama. Sad but satisfying.

2 thoughts on “Just Watched: Your Lie in April 

What do you think?

