Currently Watching: Queen for Seven Days

e1096l6L_5c4725_f

Surprisingly, I am watching sageuk again. I believe Queen for Seven Days is my second one this year. The first one was with my Yoo Seung Ho in Ruler. And I also started Six Flying Dragons early this week with Mari. Trust me, I have more historical dramas to watch. Now that I am no longer allergic to sageuk, I will watch more and more. Be prepared *wink*.

FOREIGN201706020958000243561494935

I decided to watch this drama because of Lee Dong Gun. His recent success character in Laurel Tree Tailors made me decided to watch him in this drama as well. I want to see him as a second lead. Furthermore, it can’t be helped that Park Min Young is the center of attention between him and Yeon Woo Jin. So far I have been very happy with the show. I mean there were few unnecessary scenes. Oh well, I guess the writer needs to buy time and get us crazy…

maxresdefault

Initially, I wanted to wait for the show to end but Star was persistent and suggested that I should watch with her *laughs*. Her comments got me intrigued, too. When I started it, I immediately fell for Lee Dong Gun’s character, the King. I was praying hard that I will not get an SLS because I also love Woo Jin’s character as the Prince. In the beginning, I was having an SLS but now I have moved on. How could I not be? Min Young’s character as Chae Kyung really pushes away my SLS and now I am watching it for the story, no longer for the characters. It is interesting.

maxresdefault (1)

The story of Queen for Seven Days is quite typical for historical drama. The King was appointed as an interim and when the time comes, he supposes to give the throne to his younger brother. The will was written by the late King but it was never lost. The King does not want to step down and therefore find ways to get rid of his brother. Next to the Prince is his friend Chae Kyung. She is one feisty girl who later was picked by the Queen to be the Prince’s wife. The two kids fell in love but one mistake made by the Prince one day pissed the King off terribly. He used this opportunity to get rid of the Prince. As a punishment, he was sent away.

maxresdefault (2)

On his way leaving the palace, the Prince’s convoy was attacked and the Prince was killed. Chae Kyung was extremely saddened by the news. Even the King got sad and somehow felt regretted punishing his brother. It is a bitter sweet since he wanted to get rid of his brother, too. Unbeknown to him, his brother actually survived and his body was replaced with a mutilated corpse. When the Prince arrived back into the city again, he is already an adult and recovered from his injury. Chae Kyung became intrigued with him immediately and knew that he is the Prince. The man she never stops loving.

DFFAPihU0AAkHvl

Now, the conflict is back. With the Prince’s comeback, the King became worried again of his position. The Prince wanted a revenge for what the King did to him before. But now the mess is turning to worse. Chae Kyung became very close with the King and he assigned her to be his spy. She married the Prince and became wary of her husband due to the King’s words. But later convinced that the King was wrong and started to take her husband’s side again. The King began to feel insecure again about his position and now determine to get rid of his brother. Will his total annihilation scheme work?

20170601000022_0

So far, 18 episodes have aired. I have not seen this week’s episodes but heard great things about it. I am however ready to end this drama. It feels a bit longer. I wish they could cut it shorter but oh well… Still a great drama. This drama is not a rom-com. I would recommend it if you are into watching dramatic and kiddish King. He definitely needs to chill *laugh*.

AKR20170529000900005_03_i

2 thoughts on “Currently Watching: Queen for Seven Days

What do you think?

