Just Watched: Circle

5028_CircleTwoWorldsConnected_Nowplay_Small_FWJh4Hf

Circle was the most complicated drama I have seen this year. The reason I said it was that this drama was difficult to predict. Really drove me insane! I really could not piece out the puzzle until the last three episodes. Yeah, I think my brain was not able to keep up especially that in each episode, the story was told in two different years. The first 30 minutes focused on the present world while the last 30 minutes on the year 2037. It felt like watching two different stories in a drama. Thankfully, Orion and Drama Panda were available to explain exactly the story was.

restmb_allidxmake

But you know, no matter how complicated Circle was, I did not give up. The stories were interesting, mysterious and sometimes emotional. I was curious from the beginning to the end. The plot twists really got me angry (in a good way). Some were realistic and some were not. And then when I thought I figured things out, the story became alien to me once again. So frustrated at times yet loving the juice! You know what I mean?

maxresdefault

In the present life, the brothers were living in fear. Bum Gyun and Woo Jin are haunted by Byul, or at least a girl who looks like Byul. Who is Byul? You really need to watch it to understand her identity. In the beginning, I thought she is an alien but when I started seeing three of her (not in the same time), I became wary. In the future life, we met with Joon Hyuk and obviously, Byul. I get so confused with the future life and the intention was really headachey. Eventually, I got to understand Joon Hyuk’s identity and how the story pieces out together.

maxresdefault (1)

The acting in this show was fantastic. Every actor fits the character. The most impressive one is Gong Seung Yeon. I was introduced to her on My Only Love Song. I don’t see the bratty Soo Jung in Circle. This actress is a chameleon. She pretty much in three characters here. I also underestimate Yeo Jin Goo. He was rather boring in Daebak and I couldn’t finish Orange Marmalade. I am surprised by his emotional acting here. I know some of us thinks he has mono facial but in my opinion, I really liked it. His constant worry over his brother showed on the face.

L20170605.99002195806i1

I highly recommend Circle if you haven’t seen it. I also recommend it for a rewatch because I think it is entertaining once you finally understand the story after the first time watching. Since it is only 12 episodes long, I think you will not hesitate for a rewatch. Plus, the drama is so intense you won’t notice how fast the time flies.

19429011_146777425873251_1349901095782055936_n

3 thoughts on “Just Watched: Circle

  1. Wasn’t my cuppa. If there is a season 2, I won’t be watching. It wasn’t the split story, it was the confusing writing. Maybe if I was a big fan of the leads I would have dismissed it; however, I’ve seen better split stories that really were written well. Might be why I was less forgiving.

    Like

What do you think?

