Currently Watching: Secret Forest

mLA0JYY1_8ac5eb_f

I finally able to start this glorious drama everyone has been raving about. I was either getting ready or already started my traveling when it first began airing. I was full of envy and jealousy that my Twitter friends could watch it and I couldn’t. But now the show has ended and they all are in withdrawal stage while me, enjoying every minute of it. In fact, I even spamming and tweeting madness whenever I get a chance. Some friend I am, huh? *laughs*

00501796_20170612

But the true reason I started this drama was because of Bae Doo Na. I really liked her in Gloria, the only drama I have seen her in.  I did not get to watch her in Sense8 and most likely I won’t. I have seen her in few movies too and I really liked the way she carried herself in those movies. She is definitely a top notch actress. One of the reasons I started Secret Forest immediately was because of the poster. It gives me a chill. The poster itself tells a story already. A dark, mysterious, intriguing and exciting. Mind you, I am not easily swayed unless someone convinced me. Bel‘s tweets got me excited. Trust me, Japanese dramas taught me true crime dramas.

1db25117-8a4e-4798-9cd0-906bbb5d01e6

Secret Forest is my newest favorite Korean crime drama behind Signal and My Beautiful Bride. This drama was written by a rookie writer. I must say her work is pretty extraordinary. All the stupid troops you see in Korean crime dramas are definitely kept away in this one. Also, the progress of this drama is superb. Steady yet intense since episode 1. To top it off, the actors are pretty stellar. These are not your next door actors you seen in Korean dramas. Their performances are nothing but amazing. I can’t find any flaws in any of their actings. As I am 2 episodes away before the ending, I can’t believe I am crying now. An unexpected death really shocks me. The funeral service is so intense. My hair is standing. Best performance and best scene, yet.

8.mp4_20170703_024039.457

If I can summarize Secret Forest in one word, it is… well, I need more words *laughs*. The purpose of this drama is to expose corrupted prosecutors and their not-so-meager crimes. But these crimes are not easily exposed. As you all know, they are tied to politicians, high chief officers, business men and local gangsters. But not all prosecutors are corrupted. Emotionless Prosecutor Hwang Shi Mok is definitely a rare species. He is not swayed by money, by status, by title. He is certainly focused on his work and could not care about anything but his work. He teams up with Han Yeo Jin and works together to unravel a mysterious corrupted case that started from a murder.

3.mkv_20170618_141834.186

I am dying to know how these corrupted prosecutors are caught. They are all Satan in disguise. Ooops I did not just say that… *grin*. Prosecutor Hwang and Lieutenant Han are perfect partners. They are both rational and their personalities are sort of the yin and yang. They partnership definitely meet in the middle like a tangent. I salute Bae Doo Na and Jo Seung Woo. They carry out the characters beautifully.

2017061701434_0

Since episode 1, I was immediately convinced Secret Forest is a must watch Korean drama of 2017. I really can’t think of a reason why you should not watch this drama. A combo of legal and crime drama may not be your cup of tea but you can’t ignore a well-written, well directed and well-acted drama. This drama has set the bar really high. So high that it is a pity for other writers to compete for the perfection this writer has created. Please watch Secret Forest even if you are not a Korean drama fan.

tumblr_oskwnbhe2S1rwtf0bo1_500

forest13-00010

What do you think?

