Currently Watching: The Count of Monte-Cristo: Great Revenge

sp_main_visial.pngI admit I know nothing about the real Monte Cristo story. So my canvas is completely white when I started this drama. All I know is revenge is my favorite genre! What’s more, Dean Fujioka is the main lead! How can I not pass this show, right? Only 9 episodes long, I am almost done with the series! I started on Christmas day and I thought I would be done by this morning. But real life took me away from this show but I am determined to finish it tonight. One more episode, ladies and gentlemen!

10021039_h_pc_l

This is a wrongfully accused plot drama. And obviously, the revenge is by the person who was wrongfully accused. Saimon Dan works as a marine fisherman. One day, his boat was lost at sea and did not come back until two weeks later. His fiance and mom were worried but glad that he came back unharmed. The captain did not survive the trip. Rumor has it that the captain accepted money and work for a terrorist group. Somehow Dan is now being accused that he is also a member of the terrorist group. He was imprisoned for 15 years in a secluded prison.

20180218_03

While in prison, he met another prisoner who digs a tunnel through his cell. They became friends. No, more than friends. Dan calls him father. However, due to old age, father passed away. Before he died, he told Dan a secret. A secret worth $45 million dollar! Father thought Dan all the things he needs to know. He also instructed Dan to go to Singapore to get access to the money. Dan did and used the money to get revenge against those that cornered him. When he found out that his mom is dead, he became so determined to ruin the people who did it to him.

tQ6p-zKULwYyIbiDaCiKvAjqG8FXFo6r25hQKJiHIWc

When he found out that the people he adores the most were the ones that turned his life upside down, Dan takes up a new identity. He is now the Count of Monte Cristo and used the Father’s name as his own. He slowly found out that his fiance is now married to his bestie, Yukio, who is now a famous actor. His fiance Sumire is also a famous food researcher. He became hurt that when he found out that Yukio, Kigoshi his boat mate and few of his friends in his circle including the new Chief Police were part that sent him to prison. Dan started to entrap all these people one by one as revenge.

0656e6c18d236eec66714e79ab556ddd315c968933ba47365952d530c3df67811613cb99c19961e235ee7b4f11d54743695a44af65cd94f5acec873983fb379e

Can I tell you how thrilling this show is? Dan as Monte Cristo is so calm and collective in every situation. He is so precise and smart in revealing his victims’ past history. There are few loopholes and flaws but I could not care anymore. In my eyes, the thrilling part makes up for it. I really can’t wait how this show will unravel. Will Dan reveal his identity or remain mysterious to the end? I hope he keeps his identity to himself. For that divine justice!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Currently Watching: The Count of Monte-Cristo: Great Revenge

What do you think?