Just Watched: Takane no Hana

ogp2

I knew I wanted to watch Takane no Hana aka Born to be a Flower after I saw the trailer. It was dark, mysterious and interesting. Since Ishihara Satomi is the main lead, I knew immediately that it is a must watch drama. I loved all her dramas and I expect nothing less of of her performance in here. Unfortunately, I feel like this is not her best roll and she should have not taken it in a first place. I get it if she wants to challenge herself. This is a toughest roll for her. It is not easy to play two different characters – the dedicated Momo and the casual Momo.

maxresdefault

Momo is the daughter of a prominent family that is famous for flower arrangement. She has a younger sister name Nana. The two grew up in a very disciplined household. Their father is the headmaster of the flower arrangement school – a famous school that is. Despite her beauty, talent and wealth, Momo was left at the altar on her wedding day. Feeling depressed and sad, Momo began to hang out with Kazama aka Pooh, a bicycle shop owner. Their relationship was a bit strange. Pooh loves reading books and he is so into psychology books. He understands Momo’s suffering from what he have learned through his reading. Momo, on the other hand, got close to Pooh really quickly but it is apparent that he uses her relationship with Pooh to suppress her feeling for her ex-fiance.

a42142e894748a070cbf9819a7f55228

Ryuichi is a trouble guy in his family. He is trying hard to get accepted by his family because he was born out of wedlock. So he approached the Tsukishima family with hope that he would marry one of the daughters and inherit the school. Ruriko, Nana’s mother, sealed a (sex) deal with Ryuichi and promised to make Nana the next headmaster. Momo initially was not interested in inheriting the school. Her father was furious and her stepmother got giddy knowing that her daughter would inherit everything. Then, Momo met Hyoma, Ryuichi’s brother. He told her Ryuichi’s intention. Momo determined to save the school and win her dad’s heart and become the headmaster.

Takane-no-Hana-08-02

Momo, at the time has begun her relationship with Pooh and even registered their marriage. On their wedding ceremony, her ex-fiancee Yoshiike came back and pulled her out of the marriage. Momo mouthed “sorry” to Pooh. Honestly, Momo is too easy going and so easily swayed. Her ex came back to her after finding out his wife was one of the Tsukishima’s student and broke his engagement with Momo. He got the student pregnant. It’s too late if I am Momo. But she left with him anyway and make a deal with Hyoma because of Ryuichi. Sadly, she lost the position either way to Nana.

20180815-takanenohana06-02

Momo was devastated but when she found out why and how she lost to her sister, it pisses her off even more! Ryuichi also battled with Hyoma in flower arrangement to win the next headmaster position for their family school – he lost. By this time, his relationship with Nana is now estranged. Nana caught him sleeping with her mother. But for weird reason, Nana still wants to be with Ryuichi. I would have walked away! She said she wants to be with him and give up the headmaster position for Momo. By this time, do you think Momo would take the position back?

x6mgicwZIFpp3bmKBSfN8XcrC2aWIN2_iwAV4X8hMuE

So why did she lose to Nana in a first place? It turns out Momo is not Tsukishima’s flesh and blood even though she is registered as a family. But the dad used Momo to drive Nana out – Nana is sweet, gentle and less ambitious. And he has no intention of making Momo the headmaster for the school. But Nana’s love for Ryuichi made her leave the position and hand it to Momo. Anyway…

jqCDeaDQC0nwlIBiO5QzDkKShkkmLKgatfLui_z17qA

There are many stories in this drama. Pooh’s story is more fascinating. I do not like Momo with Pooh – she uses him to get over Yoshiike. Momo herself is a three timer – with Pooh, with Hyoma and Yoshiike. But I see Pooh as her main victim. There are two sides to Momo as well. I do not like both. But she has no choice but to put on a face with her dad for the sake of school and being the perfect daughter of a flower arrangement.

a03db62

I am not sure whether I wan to recommend this drama. The story is twisted and Ryuichi is mad cray. I love the character Momo but dislike Satomi as her. I love Pooh but he’s too freely and let go of things so easily. Nana is too dependent on her family and Momo to realize what is good for her. The family is dysfunctional in a way and I’m glad I don’t live in the drama. Some people liked it, some don’t. I am on the fence. This is a dysfunctional beauty and the beast drama, for sure.

6 thoughts on “Just Watched: Takane no Hana

  1. This LITERALLY sounds like an episode of Jerry Springer “Daughter, I’ve got a secret…. Im sleeping with your man” or “Honey(Fiance) I love but I got one of your dad’s students pregnant but I still love you…kind of”

    I think I’ll skip this one😂😂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oooh wow. Its like I watched the whole episodes just reading your review. It’s good. Well, I still gonna watched this drama just to watch Kyoko Yoshine👉🏻😉👈🏻

    Like

What do you think?