Currently Watching: Thorn Birds

The_Thorn_Birds-p4

I know what you are thinking! No, I’m not watching this for Joo Sang-Wook. I’m not that desperate lah… But I have to admit one thing *red cheek* I am watching this because of Seo Do-Yeong. I adore him in Spring Waltz. He has this cute, baby face that I simply can’t resist! I can’t, I can’t! And I thought him and Furukawa Yuki (from Itazura Na Kiss) are quite alike. Maybe it is just my eyes… Can someone be on my side, for once? Don’t you agree? Anyway, this drama is driving me insane! INSANE!!!!!!

ThornBirds2

Seriously, the minute I hit episode 2, I became one angry woman all over again. Thorn Birds reminded me of Crazy Love. It may not have a same story line, but the plot is quite similar. Two women pursuing similar goal, one ended up in an orphan home and one in New Zealand (and I’m unsure with this part). One landed a job as a casting manager for a prominent film company (I call her Goldfish coz she looks like one) and another (Barbie) dreamed of becoming an actress. Both female are in love with a chaebol (who later quit being one because he wants to stand up on his own sweat) played by Joo Sang-Woo (let’s call him Sour Milk). When evil Goldfish found out that Barbie has an eye for Sour Milk, she immediately made her move. Like any other men, of course Sour Milk bought in to her evil scheme. She is such a manipulative, vicious con woman that when she got pregnant by him, she didn’t even tell him that the baby is his and when she gave birth, she registered herself in hospital as Barbie instead. Does it make sense to you? Who would do that? Oooh, I know! Goldfish did!

Thorn-Birds15

Oh my god, there’s no word can describe how mad I am with her. As a mother, I couldn’t bear seeing her cruelty and cold for refusing to look at her own child. There are so many incidents I just could not tell you how or why. I’m simply mad, mad, mad! On the other hand, when the characters got me riled up, it means that these actors are really good. My biggest complain for this drama is that it gives me a level 5 hurricane migraine. Yes, it is an upgrade of mother of evil plot of dramas I’ve seen! Do I sounded crazy? Well, call me crazy, call me whatever… I highly don’t suggest this drama! It can get pretty intense at times and that laser mouth of goldfish? *fist palm* Don’t get me wrong, it has nothing to do with the actress. The script were written pretty well but the storyline isn’t. I wish they could have arrange the plot better. I’ve read reviews that some liked this drama but a few of my Twitter friends confirmed that they too had headaches from watching the Thorn Birds. I’m currently on episode 16 out of 20 and a light bulb in my head just lit up hinting me to quit it simply because my brain knows I couldn’t handle it anymore. The history and relationship among the characters are zig-zagging one another, it just beyond my precious brain could process! DO NOT WATCH IT! I REPEAT, DO NOT WATCH IT! You’ve been warned, chingu!

2 thoughts on “Currently Watching: Thorn Birds

  1. Pingback: Taking A Dare! -Asian drama Style Day 11 to 15! |

What do you think?