Just Watched: My Teacher aka Sensei!

NPyvnf

Yeap, another teacher-student relationship movie. Also, another manga adapted movie. Why do I do this to myself? Oh right, because I am bored to death! And I also want to knock down as many movies on my list as possible. My Teacher, a 2017 movie, was a movie I never into but had to watch because someone recommended it to me. It somehow reminded me of Sensei Kunshu. But unlike Sensei Kunshu, My Teacher is on a serious side. I kinda like it, though.

d463eb96-f5ca-11e7-8693-80d4e18fb3a2_image_hires_163030

The movie is about Shimada Hibiki, a student that represented her high school for archery. She never been in loved but always tag along with her two friends who are so in love with school teachers. One day, Hibiki started noticing Mr. Ito, her history teacher. She somehow able to see his warmth while others see him as a very cold and insensitive teacher. It takes a single incident to confirm her feelings toward him. Hibiki made a pack with Mr. Ito. If she able to score 90% in her history test, she will and want to confess to him.

DamagedCheapDutchshepherddog-mobile

But before she knew her score, she confessed. Of course, he rejected. I felt relief he denied her. Except when she confessed her love once again during the school party, wearing a wedding dress (it is the theme), I got nervous. Though she said it was a joke, he was not and kissed her. Unfortunately, someone snapped photos of the two and sent it to the school administrator. As you expect, Mr. Ito left the school. Hibiki cried buckets because she felt partially at fault. Ito promised to wait for her when she graduated from school. But will he? How about her? She might fall for another boy, right?

maxresdefault

As I said before, I am not into teacher-student relationship but I like this movie. At times, it is a bit boring. Now, I did not read the manga but I am pretty satisfied with the movie. The chemistry is not 100% there maybe because Ikuta Toma took his role as the teacher very seriously. Overall, I would recommend this movie because it was done well despite the controversial issue. The cinematography is beautiful; it makes everything look dreamy.

 

3 thoughts on “Just Watched: My Teacher aka Sensei!

What do you think?