Currently Watching: A Man In A Veil

Yes, you guess it right! I finally started watching Korean daily drama again! Bel would be so proud of me! It takes Hot PD (his nickname I gave in Beautiful You) aka Kang Eun Tak for me to come out of my comfort zone and start watching daily dramas again! And I cannot believe it my first daily dramas in a long time has to be such a trainwreck since the beginning! Do I like it? I guess I am! I mean… I am on episode 101 of 105 episodes! We are now in the extension period but I don’t know how they will wrap this show. Will there be another extension? *nervous smile*

So… where do I even begin??? *laughs* I will start with the main couple, Lee Tae Poong and Han Yu Jung. They have been friends since small. Yu Jung’s family work for Tae Poong’s mom. Yu Jung and her “twin” sister, Han Yu Ra, went to school together with Tae Poong. One day, Tae Poong drowned while trying to save Yu Jung after being pushed by Yu Ra. Tae Poong woke up but the drowning incident hurts his development. His mentality stuck in age 5 even though he was in middle school at the time of the incident. Yu Jung felt it was her responsibility for Tae Poong so she sticks by him together. When they reached the adult stage, Yu Jung did not attend college but instead, she make her ends meet by delivering food, selling kimbap, and other temporary jobs she could do. Yu Jung is loyal to Tae Poong. Though she has feelings towards Tae Poong, she felt compelled to express them. Guilt has been haunting her.

Meanwhile, Yu Ra left home and became a newscaster. She has been trying so hard to get herself out of her slump (her parents are poor). She constantly trying to prove to people she came from money. She approached Choi Joon Seok thinking that he is an heir. Yu Ra seduced him until she got herself pregnant. She used her pregnancy to corner Joon Seok to marry her. But when she found out that Joon Seok came from a poor family too, she decided to leave him. Joon Seok became distraught by her request and begged her. Long story short, he met into an accident from arguing with Yu Ra. She felt happy that he is dying (or near-death). At the same time, she cannot afford to abort her pregnancy because she has a weak uterus. She needs a backup plan. She seduced Tae Poong and told his mother that she is carrying his child.

And this is when A Man In a Veil became uglier and uglier. Tae Poong married Yu Ra, and Yu Jung is upset that he slept with her sister. Tae Poong’s mom, Chairwoman Lee Kyung Hye was murdered by Chairwoman Joo Hwa Yeon for a disagreement over account and money. At the time, Yu Ra witnessed a hit and run that appears to involve Kyung Hye. She reported Kyung Hye to the police and unfortunately, her report was supported by a witness. Yu Ra made sure that Kyung Hye remains locked up so that she can take advantage of Kyung Hye’s wealth. Kyung Hye already diagnosed with cancer but no one knew except Yu Ra. Kyung Hye fell ill and was admitted to the hospital. Koo, Joo Hwa Yeon’s minion ended Kyung Hye’s life in the hospital. She also kidnapped Tae Poong and locked him up in the mental hospital. Tae Poong escaped with the help of Ji Sook.

A 5-year time jump landed us with Tae Poong is now Yu Min Hyuk, a federal prosecutor. Yes, he regained his self back and got a new identity and name. He is now living with Ji Sook and Ji Sook’s daughter, Ye Jin. Ji Sook’s husband died in a hit-and-run while trying to find out Ji Sook’s identity. Ji Sook lost her memory and her husband wants her to have closure. This time gap has changed their lives. Ji Sook and Ye Jin moved abroad and came home 5 years later with a brand new life. Min Hyuk treats Ji Sook as his aunt and Ye Jin like a sister. To start her new life, Ji Sook bought a fashion store franchise under DL Company. Min Hyuk found out that his mom’s death is related to DL Company and targeted Chairman Cha Woo Seok. He managed to land a position as the company’s lead attorney with the help of Cha Seo Joon, Woo Seok’s son.

Cha Seo Joon was a spoiled child and never received his father’s full attention and love. Woo Seok has been cold to his son for the longest time. Before the time jump, he sent Seo Joon to work in their out of state branch office and made him work from a low position. There, Seo Joon met Yu Jung. Initially, they buttheaded but eventually, he fell in love with her. His only mistake? He never confessed it to Yu Jung. After the time jump, Seo Joon leads the marketing department for DL Company. His mom, Chairwoman Joo Hwa Yeon, has been arranging blind-date meetings for him. He refused all the candidates because his heart is still with Yu Jung. Yu Ra found out that Hwa Yeon has been looking for a wife for her son. She bribed the matchmaker and added her to her list. At the same time, she started volunteering to get Hwa Yeon’s attention. Obviously, she succeeded. She ended up marrying Seo Joon while he made it clear that there is no love involved and he will divorce her two years later.

Can you see where it is going after this? Yu Ra works so hard to hide her background by hiring a fake family, kidnap her child (who is adopted by Yu Jung), get Yu Jung fired (she became a contract employee in Seo Joon’s team – obviously Seo Joon is in love again with Yu Jung but became jealous when he found out that Yu Jung began to date Min Hyuk who she said resembles a lot like Tae Poong), dig up Min Hyuk’s background (as she suspects him is Tae Poong), and get rid of Joon Seok from exposing her. At the same time, Min Hyuk tries so hard to hide his identity from Yu Ra (obviously), get revenge for his mom’s death, protect Yu Jung and her son Ho Dong (which he later found out that Ho Dong is his son, Min Woo – and if you remember, not really because Min Woo’s dad is Joon Seok), protect Joon Seok from Yu Ra and then protect Ji Sook when he found out that she was Chairman Cha’s long lost boyfriend!

Now, could you connect the dots? Yeah, it can be so confusing. I spent most of my time watching Yu Ra covering her asses and protecting her lies. It is so frustrating in the beginning (lots of cat toys involved) but after a while, I became immune and actually enjoyed watching her laughing and panicking each time she succeeded in burying her lies. The show became too focus on Yu Ra that we don’t get to see Tae Poong’s revenge take place until episode 70 and onwards. By episode 90, we don’t only get trapped by lies and revenge, we also got birth secret! This is the only part I am not going to reveal because it was a huge shock and I only picked it up around episode 80s.

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, this show is so makjang I wanted to rage quit but I could not because I have invested so much of my time! I could hear Bel giggling in my ears right now! I am so hyped out even as I am writing this post. I cannot say it is the best daily I have seen but dang, this writer is honestly very brutal and narcissistic. The nonstop lies are really tiring but it gives me this adrenaline rush episode after episode after episode! What do I want in the end? I don’t know… I just want this show to be over. At the same time, I want Yu Ra and Hwa Yeon to rot in jail for what they did. Preferably, in the same cell so that can continue to bicker! Initially, I wanted Sook Ja, Yu Ra’s mom to die too but she redeemed herself. She is now saved from my wrath!

A happy ending is expected at least from one couple – not naming them. Would I recommend it? For me, it is so juicy awful yet addictive. Despite that, I still won’t recommend it unless you have been watching it with me since the beginning. The show is ending next week! *fingers crossed* Again, I hope there will be no extension even though I have a feeling it might! Eeee, I hope I am wrong!

 

2 thoughts on “Currently Watching: A Man In A Veil

What do you think?