Currently Watching: Beautiful You

TVhmc1sksURA635814685125772439Beautiful You. Yeah, beautiful you. But nothing beautiful about it. Not sure why this drama was given such name. Le sigh. Well, this daily drama has been aired for sometimes now on its MBC Channel. I’m current with all subbed episodes and just need to catch up on the last 10 episodes or so. But why I delay my review? I don’t know. I was not in the mood and work travel really hampered my will to write. Either way, I finally found my groove and ready to spill the beans. Should I spill all of it? Nah, no fun. I’ll give you all synopsis, again! *wiggles brows*

360745_146099_455

One of the reasons I refuse to let Beautiful You go is because of hot PD. Do you remember him? Molla? Hot PD from Apgujeong Midnight Sun! Yeah, that hot PD. When I found out that he’s the male lead, I immediately said I do! Pffftttt who cares about the story line. As long as I get to watch him, I’m content. But wait, guess who else in it? Seo Do Young-ssi!!!! I think the last drama I saw of him was Thorn Birds. I’ve been wanting to watch his Thorn Flower daily drama but no channels have subbed it. It is frustrating. But the wait is paid now. I’m so glad he is in Beautiful You. So, so glad.

qvhbPpJ2quco635826819414156578

Okay, so far, I’ve seen 107 episodes. The series is 120-episode long and it wrapped up on April 22, 2016. Well, I’m so glad that it ended on the dot. I really do not want an extension. Our OTPs were miserable. It was so miserable that even I wish that all of them walk out of the show single! Trust me, chingu, that is the best and thoughtful wish you want to happen to them. Too evil? Not really! They all deserve a happy ending and happy ending here means going their separate ways. Well, this is my wish… I’m curious how they will end it.

367744_155067_485

The story is simple. Cha Seo Kyung ran away to the US with her husband. Her marriage was not approved by her mom. But she then came back from the US with a bun in her tummy. Her husband is nowhere to be found. It turns out, they were divorced because her husband cheated on her. Because he is a womanizer and moved on, she did not inform him of the offspring. On the day of her arrival, she bumped into her old flame. He was not only that, he was her radio producer, too! *whispers hot PD*. Yeap, it’s Ha Jin Hyung and he was angry to see her back. Pregnant. Coincidentally, she also met Kim Sung Joon. Even though she was so pregnant, that did not stop Sung Joon to be smitten by her. I guess his boat was rocked differently than Jin Hyung.

378567_169567_276

Ok, that’s that. Later on, Jin Hyung had to reach out to Seo Kyung when he was short on writers. He had no choice and knowing that she’s available, he thought why not use her. She was heavily pregnant at the time and agreed to work for him. She needs money, right? Her mom disagreed but she assured her that she would be fine. At the same time, Sung Joon visited her home to meet with Seo Kyung’s grandfather. Sung Joon’s dad passed away and he was her grandfather’s student. Sung Joon went to her home to give back the pen that belongs to her grandfather. And only there he started noticing that Seo Kyung is his granddaughter. Since then, he’s been a regular in that household.

362661_148561_2619

While Sung Joon is developing feelings toward Seo Kyung, she instead decided to date Jin Hyung. But their relationship came to an end not soon after due to Jin Hyung’s mom. At the time, Sung Joon was engaged to Jin Hyung’s sister. But they broke up when Sung Joon put Seo Kyung before his fiance. Jin Hyung, on the other hand, was disappointed with his mom’s tantrum that he ended up leaving the country to further his study in the US. After a time jump of nearly 5 years, Seo Kyung and Sung Joon are now an item and ready to say I do. Jin Hyung came back and heard the news of them. Meanwhile, Jin Hyung’s sister regretted her decision for breaking her engagement with Sung Joon and now plotting to break them apart. She realized that Sung Joon is the one for her. She decided to use her brother and break Seo Kyung and Sung Joon apart.

368057_155543_197

What a mess, I tell you. Jin Hyung assured his mom that he won’t go back to Seo Kyung but his noona insisted that he should so she can keep Sung Joon to herself. And now Beautiful You has made one person’s greed and tear her own family and other people’s lives apart. So now you understand why I wish them to walk away from this series alone? It is for their own good, to be honest. No one will be happy. Seo Kyung will not be happy with Sung Joon because she is simply using him for her daughter’s happiness. Sung Joon will not be happy with her because he will never win her heart. Jin Hyung will not be happy if he marries Seo Kyung because his marriage will be forever tormented by his bratty and childish mom. And Jung Yeon, his noona, will not be happy as well because Sung Joon has Seo Kyung in his mind and heart.

362663_148571_4148

Overall, the story is pretty frustrating. The side stories are so boring and ridiculous but I watch it as it gives me a time to prepare for the angst. But I still enjoy Beautiful You because the pace of the series is very calming and soothing. Call me weird but I love it simply because my other dailies are batshit crazy!!! I always prioritize Beautiful You simply because of the warm fuzzy feeling it gives me. However, I don’t really recommend this show. The writer lost her steam and recycled few plots over and over again. Such a waste of episodes, to be honest. *pouts*

Screen_Shot_2015-12-02_at_10.25.43_AM

 

9 thoughts on “Currently Watching: Beautiful You

  1. I was thinking about watching this, but between The Promise, Marriage Contract, and trying to find Vampire in Love and waiting for morw Ode to Joy episodes I decided to put this in the que for later. And YASSSS TO THORN FLOWER

    Like

  2. Pingback: Currently Watching: A Man In A Veil |

What do you think?